We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great coffee & Friendly Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Perks

Mountain Perks
9 Depot Street, Bryson City, NC 28713
8284889561
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 50 Restaurants in Bryson City
Price range: $1 - $10
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Healthy, Bagels, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Virginia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great coffee & Friendly Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stopped in for breakfast before our hike to the summit of LeConte (in the Smokies). The couple running the shop was very friendly and cheerful and the atmosphere was cute and outdoorsy (photos, framed map of the Appalachian Trail). The food was good - an apple/cranberry bagel with maple cream cheese for me and a bacon, egg and cheese croissant for my husband. Their 'Black Widow' coffee was so good, I ended up buying a pound to bring home. I would definitely visit Mountain Perks again next time I'm in the Smokies!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    12
    1
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Great morning stop before hiking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Mountain Perks is great! We stumbled on it before heading out for the day. The food and coffee are wonderful and I appreciated the amount of gluten free options and almond milk. One of the owners, Jeff, also gave us great tips on hiking spots to check out- will definitely be back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Felt like a local the second I walked in the door.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Hands down my favorite coffee shop ever. Great personalities mixed with good gluten-free food and excellent coffee. The first day I walked in the door I felt like a local regular because that's how they treated me.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mountain Perks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

A must visit when you go to Bryson City. They have wonderful food and wonderful coffee. A very laid back place with the best soups in the world!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great prices, food and service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

We have had lunch here several times when we are in the Bryson City area and the food is always excellent, the service friendly and the prices reasonable. I have found the salads and the soup of the day especially good choices, last week when there I had the Greek salad and the hummus side was especially good as was the lemon vinaigrette dressing on fresh greens. Mountain Perks is right across from the Great Smokey Mountain Railroad and is an excellent place to have a meal or coffee before or after your train ride.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mountain Perks also viewed

Bryson City, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Bryson City, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Bryson City, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Bryson City, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Mountain Perks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Perks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.