We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Worst Restaurant I've ever Encountered.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Jimmy Mac's Restaurant

Jimmy Mac's Restaurant
121 Main St, Bryson City, NC 28713
828-488-4700
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 51 Restaurants in Bryson City
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Tennessee
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“The Worst Restaurant I've ever Encountered.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We didn't even get to taste the food! As we walked in, we had heard previously that the service was horrific, but we were interested in an Elk burger. We walked in the door, and a server explained that she had no idea when we'd even get to be served or waited on. I said to her, "We've heard that about this place, but we were hoping the source was wrong." She shrugged her shoulders and said, "Yeah that's about the truth of it." We were blown away. I looked around, and I noticed that several tables had no food at all on them. I asked two tables if they'd eaten yet, and one replied, "It's been over an hour, and we still have no food." The restaurant was not even FULL. There were only 9 tables being used in the whole place! I've never head of such a thing before, and we walked out and headed to the Cork and Bean. This place needs to close, if they can't even handle 9 tables, on a Sunday afternoon.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    94
    54
    13
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
1 review
“AWESOME”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My boyfriend and I ride from Maryville Tn. to Bryson City just for Jimmy Macs! Love the Buffalo Burgers, Grouper bites, Stuffed shrimp and Stuffed mushrooms. Can't say enough about the grouper po'boy. Anybody that thinks it's frozen and reheated aren't use to GOOD FOOD!
As for the wait, anything worth having is worth waiting for. I have never had to wait for more that 5 minutes for a table or more than 15 for FRESH FOOD.

LOVE YA JIMMY MAC AND IT WAS GREAT SEEING YOU MONDAY 05-27-13.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, NC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Want to go back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Our party of 4 really enjoyed this restaurant. All of us got seafood dishes, and all were great. There were many non-seafood items on the menu, which makes us all look forward to going back. Service was okay, but we had to ask for dessert, which bothered us a little.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdosta, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“If You Don't Mind the Wait You'll Be Okay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stumbled upon Jimmy Mac's in Bryson City by accident. We love little hole-in-the-wall type restaurants and vow never to eat at a chain if we can help it when we're traveling. The wait was a little annoying. Empty tables everywhere but we sat on the bench over 15 minutes while different waitresses kept saying "We're very busy, we'll be right with you." When we finally got seated the waitress was very nice and the cheeseburger was very good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winder, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

average place,, no big deal..not cheap to eat at either,, service was ok..rustic setting. parking out front

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jimmy Mac's Restaurant also viewed

Bryson City, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Bryson City, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Bryson City, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Bryson City, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Jimmy Mac's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jimmy Mac's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.