We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not all that bad!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rivers End Restaurant

Rivers End Restaurant
13077 Highway 19 W, @ Nantahala Outdoor Center, Bryson City, NC 28713
8284887172
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 51 Restaurants in Bryson City
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Located at the intersection of the Appalachian Trail and the Nantahala River, River's End Restaurant has been serving hikers, paddlers and everyone in between since 1972. From delicious trout cakes and New York style pizza to hand-pattied veggie burgers and the infamous sherpas, River's End Restaurant has a dish for everyone. The Nantahala River provides beautiful views and plenty of entertainment while dining from riverside seats at River's End Restaurant.Serving breakfast (March-October), lunch, and dinner. Open year round.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not all that bad!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Ate here every night while I was taking kayak instruction at NOC. The view is great, staff is nice. The food isn't spectacular but it's not too bad either. Had the trout cake sandwich, it was just ok. The chili Sherpa with white bean chili was fulfilling and hit the spot. The Wesser burger was pretty good actually. After 6 hours of whitewater kayaking every day, its a great place to refuel. It's nice that this place is right at NOC so you don't have to drive.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    79
    32
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Harriman, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good views, but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

First few things we tried to order they were out of (certain selections of beer, two different menu items), so went with burgers and sweet tea. Ok on quality, high on price ($10 for a burger better be knock-out on taste!) Not that many dining options in the area, but enough to avoid coming back again.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbinsville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great place to grab some grub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Went to the Rivers End for the first time last weekend to meet some out of town friends for a casual dinner. This is a really nice casual place. Right on the Natahala river in front of the NOC. Food was very good. Prices comparable to other restaurants. No price gouging due to location. Fast friendly service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Food was okay, view was great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

The restaurant is part of the Nantahala Outdoor Center which provides rafting and perhaps other outdoor activities. We simply stopped here for a bite to eat on our way back to our accommodations. The view is great as it sits just above the river and you can watch the rafters go by. The food, however, was just "okay". There certainly wasn't anything wrong with it, but it didn't stand out, either.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Ehhh... not so much”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

This restaurant has a great location and I think that is why they can get away with not having the best food. People will pay just for the view of the river and the people coming down on kayaks and rafts.

I ordered white chicken chili, which was actually kind of yummy. We ordered wings but they were breaded, and honestly not very good. My burger was too salty and i couldn't finish it. Almost as if it were overseasoned.

The food was just okay. I feel like it wasn't the best value for the money.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rivers End Restaurant also viewed

Bryson City, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Bryson City, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Bryson City, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Bryson City, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Rivers End Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rivers End Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.