We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get Away from it ALL” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hemlock Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bryson City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hemlock Inn
Save
You added Hemlock Inn to your Saves list
911 Galbraith Creek Road, P.O. Box 2350, Bryson City, NC 28713   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Bryson City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Newberry, South Carolina, United States
1 review
“Get Away from it ALL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

If you are looking for a motel style place to stay with a TV and lots of noise....stop right now, this is not the place for you. This family style inn has a beautiful view of the mountains without the distractions of city life around you. There are small trails about the inn and no TV to distract you. The rooms are quaint and homely and the breakfasts and dinners will be the highlight of your discussions for years to come (all served family style around a table). The owners are amazing people who genuinely care about their customers and even will sit down for a meal with you. Be prepared to get out of your comfort zone because you will get to know some of the other people staying at the inn with you during breakfast and dinner. So take a step back into the olden days of North Carolina hospitality and relax....they have it covered. I have stayed at the Hemlock Inn several times and keep returning. Great for families of all sizes and ages and very near to the Great Smoky Mountain Railroad, an hour from Biltmore, very close to Cherokee.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful....you have the option of with a porch or without.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    16
    7
    5
    2
See reviews for
52
26
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Almond, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

My husband and I used to come stay at the Hemlock Inn to get away from the busy, stressful life we led in the Atlanta area. We not only came back as often as possible but began long-lasting friendships which still enrich us. We were comfortable, charmed, well-fed, and treated so courteously. The place attracts folks whose company we enjoy.

Room Tip: For those with mobility problems, there are rooms quite close to the dining rooms. For those who wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, Tennessee
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Hemlock Inn represents the best of Smoky Mountain culture -- friendly family familiarity, stunning views, saliva-inspiring food and comfortable quarters. The White family has managed Hemlock for ages, and their compassionate supervision provides a personal touch for every guest. You'll meet owner Mort at breakfast or dinner -- which, by the way, is a la carte, classic Southern dining. When you're done with your piece of pie, sit on the rocking chairs and overlook the Smokies or play shuffleboard with your kids.

Craving mountain adventures? Hemlock is a five-minute drive from a branch of the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. Go tubing at Deep Creek -- you won't regret it. Want a hike but don't feel like leaving the property? Take a stroll on the Inn's trail, which starts right behind the main lodge and winds up the adjacent hill.

I grew up going to Hemlock for a weekend nearly every summer. While my life has changed in so many ways since those days, the Inn hasn't. And that's comforting. If you want consistent, comfortable lodging with a tremendous family touch, please try Hemlock Inn.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryson City, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I have not personally stayed the night here, but I have family that stays here when they come to visit me. Why am I writing a review? To tell you about the food! We have had the good fortune to be a part of several meals served at the Hemlock Inn. Meals are family style and the food gets blessed! Talk about feeling at home! Anything brought to the table is prepared with love. The people running the inn are very welcoming. I also enjoyed spending time rocking on the front porch! What a view! It is close to town, but feels like your thousands of miles away.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QLD
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The property has its flaws but we still loved it. It is quaint, has lots of atmosphere and is an interesting place to stay. In fact, we were delighted that we still had two unplanned nights in our itinerary and were able to book an additional night. Our room was clean and comfortable and situated at the end of the block and yes, one day it will need a lot of money to be spent; but then the charm would be lost. There was no TV or telephone but they were not missed. The dining room area was interesting as was the pewter tableware. Our dinner experience on the Saturday night was a little chaotic because the majority of guests on the night were families with excited young children rushing off to the Polar Express train journey but everyone was so friendly and it was a very positive and welcoming experience. The sitting area was like being in somebody's home with an open warm wood burning fireplace that just invited you to sit and relax in the rocking chairs lined up in front of it. The Inn is located on the top of a hill with views to the mountains. It is an easy drive to Bryson City. This was a great place for us to have the opportunity to absorb the small town feel with the comforts of a couple of good coffee shops and a welcoming pizza outlet. Dinner is not served at the Inn on Sunday evening. Although we were not participating in the train journey, we gained much pleasure in being onlookers of all the activity at the station. We used our additional day to shuffle through the deep forest floor of fallen leaves to complete a "hike in the woods" ( "bush walk" in Australia) in the Deep Creek National Park and later drive to Cherokee and visit the Museum . A hearty cooked breakfast of juice, cereal and yoghurt, stewed apples with cinnamon, baked grits, biscuits ( scones) and muffins, scrambled eggs and tea or coffee was served both mornings at the Inn and we didn't mind one little bit that the bell was rung to rush everyone along to the sitting. We have been fortunate enough to have many overseas travels in recent years. Many of the places you stay are quite generic and often forgotten. Hemlock Inn will always be in our memories and while we probably will not return from Australia to North Carolina, we would recommend this experience to other open minded travellers.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Georgia
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

This was my second visit. I love this quaint mix of motel and b&b. We took our boys for the Polar Express package. This is the kind of place you build memories at. There are no tvs phones or wifi in the rooms. The rooms are your basic grandmothers home. The ONLY reason I couldn't do 5 star was the mattresses. They need replacing. So very uncomfortable and not just our room but the kids as well. Please replace them with good ones. It was pretty noisey one night with a bunch of inconsiderate guests letting their kids run rampant at 11.30 one night. Not inn keepers fault.
If you are offended by someone blessing the food at mealtimes then you probably are not a good fit at Hemlock Inn. Mealtimes are all family style and quite a treat,
Not much I can add to other reviews we love this place.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

This was our first trip to the Hemlock Inn. We love love loved it. Everything was exactly what we thought. This is a very Rustic environment,Very Cozy, no TV, hand stitched quilts, The family staff was very friendly and helpful, we immediately felt like we had been going there for 20 years and new everyone. The food was FANTASTIC with all the extra details included. warming the plates using metal serve ware to keep all food hot, heated cups in the morning, a beautiful fireplace in the main house.. and rocking chairs around the wrap around porch for the breath taking view.
We sat with three couples at our table who were all together they were very friendly and welcoming, they had all been going for ten plus years, and were actually locals who live in a bordering town that go regularly just for dinner. I cannot say enough good about the Hemlock Inn and staff.. If that is the environment you are looking for.. We have booked our next trip to return in two months.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hemlock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hemlock Inn

Address: 911 Galbraith Creek Road, P.O. Box 2350, Bryson City, NC 28713
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Bryson City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Bryson City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Hemlock Hotel Bryson City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hemlock Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.