We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great people!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kirkland Creek Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bryson City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kirkland Creek Campground
Save
You added Kirkland Creek Campground to your Saves list
1975 Kirkland Creek Road, Bryson City, NC 28713   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place, great people!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

Great hospitality! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Kirkland Creek!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    18
    3
    6
    5
See reviews for
47
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

Kirkland Creek Campground was amazing. We were greeted first off and told how everything works. Everybody at the site is very nice and welcoming. Tom is so much fun and willing to help with whatever he can. The price was very reasonable and anything you needed was on the site at the store. All tenting sites are a good size for two large tents, plus moving room. The cabins are beautiful. Lots to do, pool is always clean, the trout pond is filled and provides large fish. The bathrooms and showers are very clean. My friends and I were surprised by the cleanliness. Everyone working at the site was very knowledgeable about the area and was able to tell us things we could do and where the best hiking was. This is my new favorite spot in Bryson City.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lake city
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

We were looking for a campground that was quiet and out of the way. We stayed 3 nights and have no complaints. Wash house was clean, pool would be nice in summer, playground for children, and the staff was friendly. We will stay here again because they made us feel at home.

Florida Family loving the Mountains
Parish's

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, NC
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

I'm not sure what I was expecting as we pulled into the campground -- the online map didn't really give us a clear picture of the layout. We stayed on tent sites over by the creek....they were roomy enough for both our tent and screen house....but we were disappointed that we were unable to park our car on the site (not enough room). The other bad thing was the fact that the site was very unlevel....we had to be very creative trying to level the picnic table. Being between the creek and the fish pond -- we had to deal with a lot of foot traffic going through our campsite. However listening to the running water sounds from both the creek and the fish pond was GREAT at night. The bathrooms were pretty clean -- and I was only greeted by lack of TP once. There is a washer & dryer on site -- which was great. One thing we really liked was the "honor" system for ice and firewood. You take what you need -- mark it on your "tab" -- and then settle up before you leave. The owner and manager were very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed watching the owner spend a significant amount of time with a young camper who was struggling to catch a fish in the trout pond -- he hung right in there giving instruction until she finally had that prized fish in her hands. It was GREAT! Overall, we had a nice time -- and would most likely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

My husband, children and in-laws stayed at Kirkland Creek and it was not what we expected by the looks of the website. The site map online is a poor description of the RV/tent sites. We were told we would have a group camping area (which we did) located right next to the bath house....they failed to mention it's on "The Ridge". You have to take a pretty good hike to the bath house, swingset and pool. By the looks on the map, you are right next to them. The seclusion was nice though, as long as you have the entire ridge to yourself. Second misleading piece of info was the trout pond...it is pretty small and you do NOT catch a trout with each try....the website says gauranteed catch....AND it fails to mention that there is a "No catch and release policy" and you must pay for each fish you catch...$6/trout I think. The other very misleading bit of info is that I'd hardly call the stream running by the facilities a creek....it is tiny and you can barely even splash around in it...more like a ditch. The campground is also a bit farther from town and the state park than we would have hoped for and the entire side of the mountain it's on seems a bit "ran down". I guess if you don't have anything better to compare this to, it's ok, but after staying at Deep Creek before this, it was a big let down. On the bright side, the bath houses were clean and the staff and owners were very nice.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McClellanville
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

We just returned from our first family camping trip with our 3 1/2 year old son based around visiting Thomas the Train in Bryson City. We took a chance on Kirkland Creek when our first choice was taken, but are so glad we ended up there. The campground is a little out of the way on a quiet gravel road, but is only 10 minutes from everything in Bryson City. We actually stayed in an "off the map" rustic camp site that was more secluded from the rest of the campers, which was fine by us, but everyone seemed pleased with our stay and there was a nice family feel. The service was friendly and helpful and the bathhouse and campsites were clean. The swimming pool was clean and refreshing since it was hotter than we would have liked for the mountains. I didn't try to fish, but did spot at least 6 large trout in the pond, so people that claimed that they couldn't see fish just don't know what they're talking about. The creek is 4-8 feet wide and not deep enough for swimming or splashing, but beautiful to hear, see, and cool off in. My only complaint would be the poison ivy on the foot path. My wife and son managed to avoid it, but I've got a rash on my arm. I'm not asking to take the camp out of camping, but tending to those vines would have been nice and I'm glad it's just me with the rash, because a 3 year old and poison ivy would not have left a lasting memory. Overall I give them an A and would recommend this campground.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville NC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

Just spent 4days and 3 nights at the campsite on the top of the hill. 3 adults and 13 boyscouts. The area was just the right size for our Troop and was just far enough that the pool and bathhouse was close enough but we had some privacy also. Catherine was the young lady who checked us in and was more than helpful during our stay. I would highly recommend this site for a scout unit who was in the area doing several adventure trips. Everything we were sechuled to do with the boys was within a 20 minute drive. Thank you for a nice stay and thank you Catherine for making us feel welcome

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kirkland Creek Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirkland Creek Campground

Address: 1975 Kirkland Creek Road, Bryson City, NC 28713
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Bryson City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Bryson City
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At a cool 2,300-foot elevation, Kirkland Creek Campground is nestled in a grove of tall pine trees beside the sparkling Kirkland Creek. They’re off the beaten path, yet just minutes from all the great activities surrounding Bryson City and Cherokee, including the Nantahala Gorge, Deep Creek and the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kirkland Creek Campground Hotel Bryson City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kirkland Creek Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.