We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice friendly campground” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kirkland Creek Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bryson City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kirkland Creek Campground
Save
You added Kirkland Creek Campground to your Saves list
1975 Kirkland Creek Road, Bryson City, NC 28713   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Nice friendly campground”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

This campground is run by a gentlemen named Gunny and our group had the opportunity to help celebrate this great American veterans 50th birthday......this spot is a nice family friendly location that has a variety of camping amenities. The have tent and camper locations and even cabins. The kids enjoyed the pool and volleyball area while the adults enjoyed the horseshoe pits. You can also catch you supper in their trout pond for $6.00 per trout. Please don't expect a 5 Star Hilton experience, but if you are looking for a simple and cost effective camping spot that is family friendly, Kirkland Creek is for you.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    18
    3
    6
    5
See reviews for
47
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

Our family of 4 and our dog stayed July 2-7, 2011. We love the outdoors and had a great time. Gunny, Darlene and Chris are great people and we pray the campground flourishes and brings in so many campers. This is a family campground and everyone was so nice and friendly. It was great to have hot water for showers.

We really enjoyed the Sunday picnic with food and fellowship. The most important aspect was Rev. Billy blessing the food.

We will visit again and we are spreading the word. Blessings, The Slaughters

Room Tip: Small sites so please request the group area if you have a big party or a lot of gear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, GA
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

Family of 4 looking for escape from city living needing great mountain experience and found it! Gunny and Chris were great! Very helpful and fun! Campground was very clean, including pool and bath houses. Loved falling asleep to the sounds of the creek rushing right past our campsite. Kids enjoyed exploring the critters living under the rocks in the creek,and the camp mascots- Cashmere and Link, sweet dogs! Location was close to all activities including white water rafting,and Cherokee but far enough away from hustle n bustle to enjoy nature and the beauty of mountains. Not as secluded and away from other campers and cabins as I would have preferred, but other campers were very friendly and my kids enjoyed meeting and hanging out with all the other kids. Overall experience was great and if you are looking for a great base camp for exploring this area and don't mind meeting new friends, then this is the place for you.

Room Tip: If you are looking for secluded camping then talk with Gunny and Chris about sites located up the bl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

Spent 3 days here with my wife while on a hiking vacation. Our camping area was very large with water, fire pit and we used the electric hook-up which the owner happily loaned us an adaptor plug. The site was peaceful when we spent time there and rather than have a full-time open store the owner had things set up on a honesty system where you fill out on a card whatever you take trout, ice, firewood etc which was wonderful and convenient. Even though we did not use the pool or other fun facilities i saw families using them almost all of the time and having a blast. The local stores were not too far away but of course if your camping you should already be bring plenty of supplies. We would camp here again in the future we had a great time. Tom and Cline

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

Four friends and I stayed July 1-4 and had an amazing time. We loved that the campground was away from all the traffic and chaos. We enjoyed playing croquet, volleyball, horseshoes, and swimming in the pool! The Sunday cookout for the whole campground was awesome. I think our dog had the best time of all as he was spoiled by everyone and fascinated by the trout in the pond. We had some of those delicious trout for dinner and thanks to Chris for cleaning them for us! We definitely want to come back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acworth, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

The campground is a nice family owned affair with a friendly owner (retired Marine who has recently returned with new staff). It's about ten minutes from Bryson City and convenient to Nantahala, Cherokee, Smokies, etc. We rented a cabin which was snug, but worked well for my family of five petite folks. Larger folks (6'+) would likely find the cabins too snug. The tent sites are nice with fire pits, tables, etc. Nice pool and green central lawn. Pet friendly. I will return for a staging area for kayaking, canoeing, fishing, etc. Would be great for boy scout troop, etc. I recommend for those real campers who enjoy rustic charm.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

My family and I have stayed here for a week each of the past 3 summers! We stayed in a pop-up camper/tent site. The campground is well-maintained and has an exceptionally friendly staff. We have 2 kids, an 8-yr old and a 15 yr-old, who absolutely love it here. It's located close to a multitude of fun family-friendly activities. the Fourth of July is especially fun here! We even hiked up to the Kirkland Creek falls nearby! Our summer isn't complete now unless we have our annual camping trip to Kirkland!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kirkland Creek Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirkland Creek Campground

Address: 1975 Kirkland Creek Road, Bryson City, NC 28713
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Bryson City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Bryson City
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At a cool 2,300-foot elevation, Kirkland Creek Campground is nestled in a grove of tall pine trees beside the sparkling Kirkland Creek. They’re off the beaten path, yet just minutes from all the great activities surrounding Bryson City and Cherokee, including the Nantahala Gorge, Deep Creek and the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kirkland Creek Campground Hotel Bryson City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kirkland Creek Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.