We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute, cool and clean!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Brevard
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunset Motel
523 S Broad Street, Brevard, NC 28712   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Brevard
GreenLeadersSilver level
Atlanta, GA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Cute, cool and clean!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The sunset motel is super cute - its retro theme is done so well it really took me down memory lane. Perhaps more importantly, the motel is clean and well maintained. Great value for the reasonable cost. To top it all off, Starbucks coffee is served in the office! I definitely recommend this wonderful motel!

Room Tip: The rooms have different themes - you can ask what's available if you have a retro-preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    39
    21
    3
    2
See reviews for
29
59
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We found this motel online while looking for a place to stay on a recent trip to Greenville SC. The website was interesting and we decided to take a chance on an older property. I am here to tell you we were far from disappointed with our stay here. We were greeted by a friendly lady at the counter who informed us that even though we were early that she would be glad to register us as soon as the rooms were ready. (Less than 30 minutes actually.) We had a picnic lunch and were able to park our Gold Wing Motorcycles right in front of our door. When we got into our rooms we were again very pleasantly surprised. Someone had taken great pains to refurbish this property and everything was so clean you would have thought it was brand new. Usually you expect to see signs of a refurb in the bathroom fixtures and flooring. Not here. There were new fixtures, toilets and tubs. The employees on the property were very friendly and accommodating. There were chairs in front of the rooms that we could sit outside and visit with other guests.
We highly recommend this property as a place to stay when passing through this beautiful part of the country. It is just a short walk into town also where there is shopping and good eats to be had.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

this place is a true gem in the mountains! Close to historic downtown Brevard yet much more reasonable in price than most of the other options. Rooms have been recently renovated and are very cozy.I wish more historic Motor Lodges could be this well preserved!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayslake, Illinois
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is a family owned inn that is extremely well maintained and very clean. Some "movie themed" rooms that add character. No frills but a great stop for a night or long weekend. Small gift shop and coffee in front office.

Room Tip: All rooms have a chair outside the front door for porch sitting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Wales, Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We were late arriving. Jordane Landry, the front desk clerk, was concerned that we might be caught in a rain storm crossing the Eastern Divide and called regarding our location. This young man showed great respect and courtesy during check-in and was very responsible. He gave great directions and got us to the right place.

We stayed three nights. Central location. Brevard is beautiful. Awakened to the sound of song birds. Room was clean, neat and decorated in the 1950's. Very reasonably priced.

Lori has taken on a big job in restoring this once beautiful piece of property to its former glory. She has decided on a l950's look and for those of us who were around then, it is really a trip down memory lane. I enjoyed her vim, vigor and vitality. There is no amount of work she will not do to make this work. We will return.

For breakfast, eat at Henry's. Owner Kirsten and cook Scotty will do their best to make sure you have the best homemade biscuits, eggs and hickory smoked bacon. Expect down-home smiles, friendliness and good humor.

Room Tip: Listen for the sound of silence. So nice!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunsetOwner, Owner at Sunset Motel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
We thank you for your great review. A special thanks for singling out one of our employees for praise. We value your opinion and also think Jourdane is exceptional!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

For years, we have made a yearly pilgrimage to Brevard for summer camps, and for years we have stayed at the Hampton Inn. This year, however, it was booked. The Holiday Inn was too, along with all of the other reputable hotels in town. Oh no. What do we do. Camping is a no, as is The Rodeway Inn with a perpetual vacancy. Lord knows we'll never make it on time if we leave day-of. So what do we do? I'll tell you what. We take a chance on the "newly renovated and smoke free" Sunset Motel! Wait. The Sunset Motel? You mean that decrepit, drug-invested Bates Motel on Broad Street?!

Yes, but to be fair, the only part of that description that remains from a few years ago is the address. Since Lori Roberts took control, it is a completely different establishment, and it is great. She has taken the certainly dingy, filthy rooms and taken them 180 degrees. They're fun. They're retro. Most of all, they're clean. They're relatively inexpensive too, but without taking away traditional amenities that are to be expected. The rooms come equipped with refrigerators, microwaves, and cable. That said, glimpses of the motels previous life can still be seen. For example, power outlets are few and far between, the bathroom is rather small, and the walls do little for soundproofing, but this can all easily be overlooked when you look at the attractive furnishings and remind yourself that it is, to some degree, a work in progress.

So, next time you're staying in the area, take a chance and momentarily cast away your previous beliefs as to what a motel can be. They're not all run by Norman Bates, as The Sunset Motel certainly proves.

We were captivated by the place, and will be back again next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at sunset motel for 4 nights in a queen double room. It has been comfortable and suited our needs. The room was cozy, clean, quiet, affordable and simple.
It's 'no frills' so no toiletries, room cleaning or laundry but that's ok as it's clear. The beds were very comfortable and the amenities in the room and bathroom worked well.
It is on a main road so there can be some traffic noises but I would be happy to stay at the sunset again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunsetOwner, Owner at Sunset Motel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for your review! I'm sorry we let you down with the toiletries! We do provide shampoo & soap. Room cleaning is available upon request. I wish you'd let us know you needed something as we would have been more than happy to restock your room daily. I just got our shipment of blow dryers in Friday and they are being installed Monday. Also, thank you letting me know about the fact you didn't have complete dark at night. We will make adjustments to the curtains this week. Was a pleasure having you as a guest with that wry wit! Always enjoy having a good laugh with our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunset Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Motel

Address: 523 S Broad Street, Brevard, NC 28712
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Brevard
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Brevard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunset Motel is a hip, unique 50's roadside motel that has been "retrovated" with modern amenities (Wifi,mini fridge,microwave,coffee maker,blow dryer,flat-screen TV,HBO,Cable). Our little blast-from-the-past is centrally located between DuPont & Pisgah Forests and within walking distance to downtown. Each room is unique and all but one are on ground-level, some with kitchens/kitchenettes and porches with vintage chairs to lounge about or strike up a conversation with other guests over a glass of wine or mug of brew. Personality plus the best of Southern hospitality. Come as our guest. Leave as our friend! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sunset Motel to your Saves list