We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TOPS!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Brevard
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunset Motel
Save
You added Sunset Motel to your Saves list
523 S Broad Street, Brevard, NC 28712   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
$26 off room rate
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Brevard
GreenLeadersSilver level
FL
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“TOPS!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We love this place :-) Bike friendly, low key, and all the retro nostalgia you could ask for! We stumbled upon it years ago and have returned every time we visit the area. Staff is always accommodating and friendly, make you feel at home. It is literally like taking a step back in time, you know, when people smiled and actually cared how you felt while traveling....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorileigh63, Owner at Sunset Motel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words! Lori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    44
    24
    3
    3
See reviews for
33
70
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sautee Nacoochee, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We visited Brevard in Feb., 2013. The Sunset was closed for the season, but the owner opened up and gave us a room. She was wonderful and offered us a choice of rooms based on my preference for a soft mattress. She showed us 3 rooms, which were all freshly decorated (retro!, which was lovely). We had a comfortable room for a FANTASTIC price, and the location was perfect. We could not have asked for more. I would highly recommend the Sunset. ** We also had a fantastic meal at Marco's.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunsetOwner, Owner at Sunset Motel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you! We were happy to accommodate you. We are fully up and running now and getting ready for our grand opening celebration. We hope to see you two again this year!
Lori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

W had an OK stay at this Inn, my wife was begging to stay at a chain hotel and I think I should have taken her up on it. Our first room assigned to us was ok but no working phone or AC Unit. The second room assigned was upgraded with a little kitchenette, it was nice but the room smelled very musty....the AC smelled like a wet cat in the summer time when turned on. The shower tile had gaps in between the pipes and had to watch so our kids did not get their fingers stuck. The bed sheets had hair on them when we pulled them back, and it look like it took them 3 minutes to clean the room. The owner/operators had someone watch the inn while they were out of town and none of them seemed to care much about our comments.

Room Tip: I thought the cabin's they had were better than the rooms, but they had been booked!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunsetOwner, Owner at Sunset Motel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
We cannot find anyone fitting the description of this reviewer but sent this person an email via this site and I am awaiting a response. We were unable to locate a room with a kitchenette, no phone & a broken AC unit. As you may be able to tell from my other review responses, we take guest complaints very seriously and I need to know when things are not up to my standards so that I can rectify the situation quickly and fairly. I will report the outcome if I'm allowed to add to this response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Illinois, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Our stay in Brevard was so comfortable this time. Our motel room was clean, private and efficient. There was even room to entertain and eat our supper in our room.If you want comfort, this is the place to stay. The rates are very affordable and they respect your privacy. Sunset Motel is a retro experience with newly updated rooms that have not lost their retro charm. We have every intention of returning to Sunset Motel for our future visits to NC.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunsetOwner, Owner at Sunset Motel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for your kind review! We get excited when our guests our happy because that means we must be doing something right. We do our best to turn guests into friends and are interested in assisting in any way needed. We hope 2013 brings you back through our doors! This year marks The Sunset Motel's 55th Anniversary and are still making improvements each and every month. We've also added some adventure packages which we will be posting on our website very soon. Best to you, Lori
Lori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coronado, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The Sunset Motel has really turned around to become a very comfortable and easy place to stay. I would certainly stay here again! Microwave, refrigerator & cable are all great amenities and the upscale decor is fun and cheerful!

Room Tip: Room 6 is very well done and looks great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

What fun! I liken this place to a classic car. Many friends who have them say, "It's great, it's nostalgic, it reminds me of when I was young, but there are no cup holders." Although all the renovations are not quite complete I can say that the Sunset was everything I was looking for in a circa 57' motel, with upgrades. If you have to stay in a Hampton, or Holiday Inn, stay there. This place is neither, but it is fun and the bed was unbelievably comfortable. You can't beat the location and everyone we met who worked there were friendly and nice. I always like to look for places like this, especially if we are only spending a night and I am so happy we found this one. We were going to Limestone, Tenn. for Veterans Day Weekend and wanted to get a jump start on Friday. I saw this on Tripadvisor and canceled my reservation at the Hampton and am not disappointed. The place reminded me so much of the travels with my family in the 50's/60's only with a fridge, coffee maker, and flat screen tv. Nope...no "cup holders" but we didn't expect them. We will definately stay here again on our next trip to Brevard, one of our favorite towns. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, GA
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I would love rate this motel higher, but unless you are looking for rustic memories, it just doesn't compare to the value you get at newer hotels. One of the things that appeals to us is the morning breakfast available at a lot of motels. When you add the cost of going out to breakfast to the price of the room, it was really about the same as staying in a newer place.
The room was clean, but everything is worn and dated. Also, very small.
If it was a busy weekend I would be concerned about the noise level with all the cars parked right in front of the rooms, and a busy road right in front. The night we stayed, there were only two other cars.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunsetOwner, Owner at Sunset Motel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment. While we cannot be all things to all people, we understand your position. For some, "breakfast included" chains are very important, for others, they like to dine in our local breakfast spots and not have that cost rolled into the rate. In the summertime, the rate difference is hefty.

You were correct about the room you stayed in . The items were worn and we apologize that we were unable to offer you one of our updated rooms! The good news is that we have already received one shipment of new furniture with another on the way! We found it hard to do any further renovation because we stayed booked up from April thru November but are now hard at work to complete everything by April 2013. Whether you reconsider us or not, we hope you'll continue to visit Brevard! Thank you again for your candor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Motel

Address: 523 S Broad Street, Brevard, NC 28712
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Brevard
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Brevard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunset Motel is a hip, unique 50's roadside motel that has been "retrovated" with modern amenities (Wifi,mini fridge,microwave,coffee maker,blow dryer,flat-screen TV,HBO,Cable). Our little blast-from-the-past is centrally located between DuPont & Pisgah Forests and within walking distance to downtown. Each room is unique and all but one are on ground-level, some with kitchens/kitchenettes and porches with vintage chairs to lounge about or strike up a conversation with other guests over a glass of wine or mug of brew. Personality plus the best of Southern hospitality. Come as our guest. Leave as our friend! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.