We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sora Japanese Restaurant

Sora Japanese Restaurant
300 Forest Gate Center, Brevard, NC 28768
(828) 883-9808
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 63 Restaurants in Brevard
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian, Sushi
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Manhasset, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pretty good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I have to be honest . I am from an older generation and never liked sushi but friend took me there and could not say no. It was actually pretty good. I had the Godzilla roll which was not completely raw (it was fried on the outside) and it was very tasty. I also had the ginger salad i think this is what it was called and was also impressed.
Great first sushi experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Parkersburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Sushi!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I can't say enough about this place. This is the best sushi I've had. It's hard to believe that this restaurant is located in a little town nowhere near the coast. Mondays and Thursdays are buy 1 get one free sushi night and that is a bargain. I've never had a bad roll there. In Brevard every year at this time and we always know where we're eating on Mondays and Thursdays!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kisskks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brevard, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome Sushi, even in the mountains”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Love, love, LOVE Sora, and their sister restaurant, UMI in Hendersonville. The owner and staff are really friendly, they are always having specials, and their food is amazing. Totally worth the price. We go here twice a month, and have never had a bad experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Allie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
1 review
“The best Japanese food I haven't had from my whole life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Their foods was absolutely delicious and the service is great,great,great. When you tasted the freshest fish at an excellent Japanese eatery, you will feel full thankful in your mouth up to your heart.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kenny Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brevard, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Sushi Around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Very innovative and delicious. Often use mango and other non-traditional ingredients in their rolls. Wonderful place. Has a devoted following. When we aren't traveling, we go there at least once a week. The "Dynamite Mussels" are dynamite!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carol E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sora Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Brevard, North Carolina Mountains
Brevard, North Carolina Mountains
 
Brevard, North Carolina Mountains
Brevard, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Sora Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing