We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Square Root

Square Root
33 Times Arcade Alley, Brevard, NC 28712
828-884-6171
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 59 Restaurants in Brevard
Cuisines: American, Bar, Asian fusion, Fish & Chips
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Located in a beautifully restored historic building...down a quiet alley in the heart of Downtown Brevard, The Square Root Restaurant is as well known for its architectural and artistic decor as it is for its fabulous food. Whether you're hoping to enjoy the ambiance of our indoor dining room, our locally crafted wood bar top, or the fresh breezes of our covered outdoor patio - there is room for everyone. Our atmosphere is inviting for romantic evenings, cocktails with friends, and family gatherings. We pride ourselves on serving locally roasted coffee from The Brown Bean, and we offer several local brews on tap and by the bottle. Menu choices include options to please the young and the old, the adventurous and the picky eaters, and anyone who enjoys delicious fresh food at reasonable prices. We also offer a full bar with extensive wine and cocktail choices.
Asheville, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Incredible food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed one of the best meals we've had in WNC! We ordered and shared the Pan-Seared Scallops and the Hanger Steak! Perfectly cooked and marvelous! For dessert - Key Lime Pie and Molten Lava Cake which we also shared. I LOVE chocolate but the Key Lime Pie was my favorite! The dishes were all beautifully presented and the staff was gracious, prompt, and, well everything was just perfect!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    82
    35
    17
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
285 helpful votes 285 helpful votes
“Enjoyable experience through and through”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Everything we ordered was delicious - from the calamari to the burger. The menu isn't quite eclectic, but it's nice mountain casual fare that has a few surprises. Pan seared scallops or curry lamb meatballs. Talk about out of left field. But it's all delicious. The kids menu is a weak spot... ours were happier to order off the main menu and split. They loved it.

We arrived on a night with live music that was fabulous. The wait was long, it was pouring rain, and we just didn't care. It was such an enjoyable experience through and through.

A note on service. Ours was quite good. Friendly, helpful, prompt....a few reminders needed on refills, but always johnny on the spot afterwards. While I try not to get too preachy in reviews, this seems like as good a place as any to speak up on a topic - when you're in a restaurant and your service is as lousy as some reviewers here have written, if you don't speak up, even if it's more or less on the way out the door, you've done yourself and your fellow diners a terrible disservice. As long as you're polite and specific and can use the commentary to provide information to the management, you'll go a long way towards helping deserving restaurants keep good talent, train the underachieving, and let go of the consistent problems.

One of the most helpful things I can read in any review is 1. what the problem was, 2. how the problem was addressed by you, and 3. what the outcome was from management. And frankly 2 and 3 are more helpful than 1.

In our instance, nothing was "bad." But when asked by management how things were, I politely stated that although the restaurant was quite busy, beverage refills, requests for condiments and silverware, etc. were still important and when there is a delay and/or forgetfulness, the meal is less enjoyable and it takes longer to turn the table over. In our instance, the delays were minimal, and any issues were corrected more or less immediately. Management expressed appreciation for the comment, offered to comp drinks on the bill, (which we declined) and asked whether they could count on us to to return because at the end of the day, they wanted us to be completely satisfied. And we were.

Maybe it was the mountain rain, the bluegrass music, or just the juicy burger I sunk my teeth into. (Or maybe it was that our children also behaved like angels) but the experience here was enjoyable through and through, and we'll be back again soon.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good Food, fun atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Love the decor and interesting things on the menu. Everyone loved their meals, rib special, trout, scallops and duck. My husband said the duck was Ok he has had better at 2 restaurants in Asheville. We tried the fried green tomato appetizer, good but the crust could be more crispy. The mussel appetizer was quite good.
If you want to hear your table mates ask to sit outside, it is quite loud inside if there are large groups or the tables are full. We did not care for our banana's foster dessert. I would say call it something different.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, NC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“stop the presses! fried green tomato sandwich!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Cold local brews and delicious food arrived at our table in the blink of an eye. Sitting in the old newspaper printing office with it's high ceilings on a hot Carolina day just relaxing and taking it all in. Menu is worth the read. I settled on the fried green tomato with bacon and lettuce. Still smiling.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Worst Service EVER”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Just read rca72's review. I think we were the couple that walked out. We were so very disappointed because the the food did look wonderful! First off, the waitress brought us the wrong drinks. She did come back with the right drinks and take our order; that was the last time she even looked our way until she brought us the bill! We sat for 30 minutes with empty tea glasses, no food and she brings us our bill!?! My husband laughed because it was so outrageous; me? It spoiled my afternoon in Brevard.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Square Root also viewed

Brevard, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Brevard, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Brevard, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Brevard, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Square Root? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Square Root, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.