We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good brunch!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Square Root

Square Root
33 Times Arcade Alley, Brevard, NC 28712
828-884-6171
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 58 Restaurants in Brevard
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American, Fish & Chips, Bar, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Located in a beautifully restored historic building...down a quiet alley in the heart of Downtown Brevard, The Square Root Restaurant is as well known for its architectural and artistic decor as it is for its fabulous food. Whether you're hoping to enjoy the ambiance of our indoor dining room, our locally crafted wood bar top, or the fresh breezes of our covered outdoor patio - there is room for everyone. Our atmosphere is inviting for romantic evenings, cocktails with friends, and family gatherings. We pride ourselves on serving locally roasted coffee from The Brown Bean, and we offer several local brews on tap and by the bottle. Menu choices include options to please the young and the old, the adventurous and the picky eaters, and anyone who enjoys delicious fresh food at reasonable prices. We also offer a full bar with extensive wine and cocktail choices.
Central Florida, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good brunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Sunday brunch was good. Our party of 3 adults and tot enjoyed breakfast or lunch items. Service a but slow because popular for brunch.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    90
    38
    17
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach VA
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Something Different”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Driving through the Pisquah National Forrest made us hungry so we headed for Brevard, NC. After looking over the restuarants in the town, we decided on The Square Root. Tucked away in an alley the place doesn't look all that attractive but we went anyway. Being about 3:00 in the afternoon, the place was nearly empty. We were seated quickly and ordered drinks. Like someone else said, the beer could have been colder. The local Pale Ale I ordered was almost English warm. The food came out quickly and was really quite tasty. When we finished, it took a long time to get the check. Glad I went but certainly nothing to write home about.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina, United States
1 review
“Poor Service and More Poor Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Poor service!! Walked in with a party of 4 at 5:05pm. Was quickly seated and drink orders taken.and given the menu. After we had selected our entres, the waiter came back to say we were given the wrong menu. The second menu did no contain half of our original selections. We are talking about sandwiches here. No major entres. An employee posted to a menu board behind one of our party for about 15 minutes and kept bumping into her. Our food came and we had to go get napkins and utensils from another table. Another party came and was seated beside us. and they quickly discovered the table dirty. The same table we had rejected when they tried to seat us there. Poor service does not describe this experience.They acted like we were doing the a favor to eat there. We will never go back. Suggest you select somewhere else to eat in Brevard.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Not impressed...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I had the Oyster Po' Boy sandwich for lunch at Square Root. Skimpy amount of small oysters, their supposedly signature sweet potato chips were soggy and the service was lousy. My friends also got soggy sweet potato chips. No one was particularly impressed...

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brevard, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“No Flavor! Bummer.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We're new to the area and were looking for a good place to get lunch. Square Root looked promising enough...the menu seemed somewhat innovative and the location was ideal. Unfortunately the location is the only thing this place has going for it. Staff was friendly, but the food was not up to par. I had the caesar salad because I wasn't all that hungry. You would think that a caesar dressing would be pretty straight forward. Not for this place. I'm pretty sure their dressing consisted of sour cream and lemon juice. It was unbearable. My friend got the fish tacos and had the same problem. No flavor at all. Basic dishes guys. If you can't make it just buy it from your food distributor.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Square Root also viewed

Brevard, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Brevard, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Brevard, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Square Root? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Square Root, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.