We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is our favorite campground!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ash Grove Mountain Cabins & Camping

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brevard
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ash Grove Mountain Cabins & Camping
Save
You added Ash Grove Mountain Cabins & Camping to your Saves list
749 East Fork Rd, Brevard, NC 28712   |  
Hotel amenities
Shelby, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“This is our favorite campground!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We LOVE Ash Grove! We are a family of four and have stayed in the stellar campsites on 4 or 5 different visits over the years. Our children, who are now 8 and 10, have been camping here since they were 1 1/2 years old. We have always found the campsites to be well maintained and the bathhouse to be clean. The hosts are super friendly and always have great advice on hiking trails. If you are looking for a family friendly place with a wooded campsite where you don't have to look over at your neighbors from the campfire, this is the spot!!!

Room Tip: Any of the stellar sites are great. The hosts can help with selection if you'd prefer a more pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven D, Owner at Ash Grove Mountain Cabins & Camping, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thanks for being some of our favorite guests. It is very gratifying for us to watch our repeat guests' families grow over the years and realize that they choose to create wonderful family memories here. We will continue to do what we can to make Ash Grove a place to which you will always return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    4
    0
    3
    3
See reviews for
42
29
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, NC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We've been to quite a few campgrounds in North Carolina and we always enjoy coming back to Ash Grove. The proximity of this campground to the best waterfalls and hikes in the county can't be beat. It's just a short drive up the hill one you leave downtown Brevard. There are some restaurants nearby and a convenience store just a short drive down the street as well if you don't want to drive back into town. But the convenience of having several great hikes within just a short drive is one of the benefits to staying here.

The owners of the campground are very accommodating and responsive to requests. They have firewood prepared and bundled and will drop it off at your site. We've always picked the Techno sites because of the onsite water tap and the convenience of an electrical outlet. On our last visit the breaker was blown on our electrical outlet, but they replaced that before we were able to get our tents up and everything unpacked and rolled out. Great service guys!

This was the first time we were able to bring the grandkids. They were able to walk all around the campground and make their way to and from the bathroom facilities and our site without supervision. They had a large open area to toss the Frisbee and play catch while we were preparing the meals. They enjoyed the firepit at night and while the smores were ok, they were really more interested in just setting sticks on fire in the already burning bonfire.

While this is 'camping', this is also one of the cleanest campgrounds to stay in. We find the shower and bathroom area always clean and tidy. Plus, if you need to do last minute laundry they have a facility for washing and drying clothes. We asked about places to rent inner tubes and go floating down the local river and we were directed to a nearby business that turned out to be great. They worked with us to get the kids all squared away and we enjoyed a 2 hour float down the river to the pick-up site. Our wet shorts, tank tops and gear went into the washer and dryer at the campsite and we had dry clothes to pack on our next day when leaving. That was a nice convenience.

We look forward to our next visit and would recommend this campsite to anyone looking for a clean, safe, friendly and quiet place to camp.

Room Tip: Have never stayed in any of the cabins, but they do have several on site if that's the type of s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven D, Owner at Ash Grove Mountain Cabins & Camping, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
We appreciate your staying with us and taking the time to tell others about us. And your choosing Ash Grove for some time with your grandchildren is an added bonus for us. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I was really hoping for something different when I booked Ash Grove. It was clean, the owners were SUPER friendly, it's just NOT kid friendly.
We camped here June of 2014 in a travel trailer. With a little bit of water on the pavement we almost didn't get our rig up the hill to our campsite. Site #4.
The entire campground it hilly and steep and while that's great for adults, it wasn't ideal for camping with toddlers or even elementary aged children.
The bathhouse was down a VERY steep huge hill making it a workout to get to and get back from. There was no where for the kids to ride their bikes without worrying about them face planting into the pavement from the steep terrain, or kick a ball without having to worry about chasing down the hill into the woods.
There is a playground, but it too, is up a HUGE hill and it's a couple of homemade swings and 2 see saws. No swings for younger children or anything for them to do.

So, my low rating has nothing to do with service or cleanliness, it's just that the terrain was too much for what we were wanting when camping with kids.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven D, Owner at Ash Grove Mountain Cabins & Camping, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are sorry that Ash Grove was not what you expected, but are glad that you found our facilities clean and the owners friendly. We try to make sure that our guests know what to expect before they make a reservation, so that they won't be disappointed. That is why that we state on our website that the roads getting to us--as well as our interior roads--have hills and curves; recommend a 4WD vehicle for trailers 25' or longer; include photos and videos of the campground; and describe our property as "14 wooded, mountaintop acres". However, in the future we will work harder to find ways of conveying to prospective guests that we are on a mountain and not on flat land.
Each year, a substantial majority of our guests are either repeat guests or are referred by previous guests. Many of those guests bring children--of all ages. Those children who have grown up coming to Ash Grove over the past 11 years play at the small playground or with badminton and horseshoes. We also have some nature trails. The trails are easily accessible and children (even of elementary school age) can wander and play along them to discover the joys and beauty of nature, or go on a guided nature walk with Mr. Mark.
We try to offer an informative and honest picture of what Ash Grove is, and leave it up to the prospective guest to decide if the wants and needs of his/her family meshes with what we have to offer. There are several other reviews on TripAdvisor where families with children love Ash Grove.
We are open to suggestions for improvement, but our philosophy of working within and alongside nature prevents us from chopping down and bulldozing our forest to make things flatter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huron, TN
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

This spring we told our 5 year old we were going on a camping trip and he burst into tears when he heard that the destination wasn't Ash Grove. So he was pretty delighted when we made our annual summer trek to our favorite campground this past week. As in years past, everything was perfect. Mark and Steven gave us a warm welcome upon arrival and the site was immaculate. My kids got a much-looked-forward-to nature walk and plant lesson from Mr. Mark. The hookups worked perfectly, the scenery was breathtaking and life slowed down for a lovely week. If you scour the reviews, you might find one or two folks who didn't fall in love with Ash Grove. My guess is they are not the sort looking for peace and precious time in nature but rather the sort of inconsiderate campers that make me cringe at other campgrounds. There's no other explanation, because Ash Grove and the owners are truly superb!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven D, Owner at Ash Grove Mountain Cabins & Camping, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you for staying with us again this summer. We enjoy having you and your family here. With your desire for a peaceful experience and your love of nature, you're perfectly suited for what we want Ash Grove to be. We are looking forward to your next visit--maybe even before next summer?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

The owners of this campground keep it well kept! Bathrooms are so clean!!! Our kids had a great time here. I am going to tell everyone about this place. Camp sites are very private and all are unique in there own way. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven D, Owner at Ash Grove Mountain Cabins & Camping, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thank you for being our guests and for the review. We are glad that you enjoyed your camping trip and we look forward to seeing you--and anyone that you recommend us to--in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwell, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Thanks to listening to the breeze rustling the trees and a gentle rain falling on our tent (plus a new sleeping bag), I had my best nights of sleep ever while camping. We napped a lot and completely lost track of time, but still managed two 5+ mile hikes in Pisgah National Forest. Now, my biggest problem is how to squeeze a third stay in the forest between our regular spring and fall visits since 2012.
Our campsite was a semi-private space created by an opening in the woods accessible only by foot. Our car was safely parked at the clean and well-stocked bath house nearby. The owners are delightful to talk with and they are true dog lovers. I appreciate their rules, attention to detail, and loving care of the property that ensured the quality of our camping experience. This place is a most definitely unique treasure for outdoorsy folks like us!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sldmsh, Owner at Ash Grove Mountain Cabins & Camping, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank you for staying with us (multiple times!) and for sharing your experiences at Ash Grove. We want all of our guests to enjoy their stays as much as you do, That is why we pay attention to detail, offer a clean bathhouse for campers (and extra clean cabins, each with their own bathroom) and have developed rules to help ensure a quiet, relaxing place where "Nature Revives the Spirit". We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Best of the best! This campground has it all, and maintains it with friendly immaculate care. We stayed on one of the wooded small campsites, no hookups- almost like the outback! Wooded, no other site in view, fire pit; wheel barrow to get your stuff down the trail.
Bath house clean, attractive- 5 stars.
I hear the cabins are nice, too!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sldmsh, Owner at Ash Grove Mountain Cabins & Camping, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank you for being our guests and for taking the time to share your opinion of Ash Grove. We designed our sites to have a back country feel, but with the add convenience of hot showers and flush toilets in a heated bathhouse. We would love to have you try our cabins for yourselves--perhaps a romantic winter getaway in front of the gas log fireplace?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ash Grove Mountain Cabins & Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ash Grove Mountain Cabins & Camping

Address: 749 East Fork Rd, Brevard, NC 28712
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Brevard
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Brevard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nature Revives the Spirit. Revive yours at one of our fully equipped 1, 2 or 3 bedroom cabins; secluded tent sites or shady RV sites. Located on 14 wooded mountaintop acres near Brevard, Asheville, waterfalls, hiking and mountain biking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ash Grove Resort Cabins & Camping Hotel Brevard
Ash Grove Resort Cabins And Camping

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ash Grove Mountain Cabins & Camping, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.