We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Perfect Cabin Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ash Grove Mountain Cabins & Camping

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brevard
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ash Grove Mountain Cabins & Camping
Save
You added Ash Grove Mountain Cabins & Camping to your Saves list
749 East Fork Rd, Brevard, NC 28712   |  
Hotel amenities
Morrisville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Another Perfect Cabin Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Hi All, I am reviewing this stay again. Why? I can't say enough about the cabin and the hosts of this site. Mark and Steve are super. The cabin was in perfect condition and is still in great condition even after a year of other visitors plowing in and out of the cabin. You know this is the best experience I have ever had in a small secluded cabin is here. Yes the WiFi is here but who comes here for Wifi? Okay maybe if you want to look for waterfalls in the area and ma out a route you need it. The WiFi is much better than last year and it is expanded. I see there is a new site being cleared for a ew concept. Check back later for deatils. It looks interesting. An Elf Shelf? I think that is what they told me. Anyway this camp ground is expanding and continuing to improve. You want to unplug and get away and relax with the sounds of nature and sleep all day you ca. It is an easy trip to any of the area's water falls. If anyone has a problem with this place it is because they are not i tune with nature. Don't expect a KOA level place. Do expect a quiet secluded relaxing place to enjoy nature. As always respect your neighbor and nature and you wil have a perfect stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sldmsh, Owner at Ash Grove Mountain Cabins & Camping, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for staying with us again (3rd time!) and for sharing your experiences with TripAdvisor. We're looking forward to seeing you again. We provide WiFi for those who want it, but have been told many times by guests, "Please don't tell my Spouse/Children/Friend that you have it--I want to be unplugged." And we are happy to oblige. Once, we even removed the TV from the cabin at the request of a guest before her party checked in. Our guests can be as connected or as unconnected as they want to be while here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    4
    0
    3
    3
See reviews for
42
29
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rock Hill, South Carolina, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I stumbled across this awesome campground by researching nearby areas and found Ash Grove. It's a small privately owned campground,only a few RV sites, but there are several cabins and the tent sites are so well maintained and secluded it's awesome. Mark and Steven the owners are so nice. The bathhouse is emaculate, always clean. We try to make a point to go back every year. It's very close to Dupont State Forest (where Hunger Games was filmed) and it's about a 20 minute drive to town. If you need anything Mark and Steven will try there best to accomodate you. You will not be sorry you stayed here. They do not take credit cards, cash or check only.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sldmsh, Owner at Ash Grove Mountain Cabins & Camping, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for staying at Ash Grove and for taking the time to tell others about us. We're glad that you choose to come back yearly-hope to see you again this summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My family stayed at Ash Grove last weekend. I've been camping for years, but my wife and kids have never been. My children are ages 3 and 7. My wife is not an outdoors person at all. On the drive home, all they could talk about was going back. Clean bathhouse. Spacious campsites. Friendly people. We will be back.

I give excellent marks to everything except sleep quality (who sleeps perfectly in a tent?).
My only gripe is that it was advertised that I would have wi-fi connectivity. Neither I, or my neighbors were able to get logged in. I had a few sightseeing locations bookmarked and had to scramble to get info otherwise. A minor inconvenience...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sldmsh, Owner at Ash Grove Mountain Cabins & Camping, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you for staying with us! You're never too young to learn the joys of Nature. We're glad that Ash Grove was able to provide a good experience for your family's first camping trip.
We're sorry that you experienced Wi-Fi problems. The network log shows that is was working while you were here. We are available during office hours (generally 9am to 7pm) to assist with any problems--hopefully we would have been able to resolve the issue had we known about it. If need be, we can always connect guests' computers to the network via ethernet cable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

Came with my 13 year old son and his friend. Stayed over the weekend and was grateful to be able to spend time with my son. Time flies and you can't get it back. This is by far the best experience you can ask for when it comes to being outdoors. I was impressed by how many kids and their parents were camping but yet you could hardly tell they were there. The property is pristine, well laid out and has something for everyone. A complete pleasure that will be experienced again. It goes without saying that Mark and Steve have put together one of the best vacation spots and at such an affordable rate. Looking forward to next visit

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sldmsh, Owner at Ash Grove Mountain Cabins & Camping, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Thank you for choosing Ash Grove as the place to spend some quality time outdoors with your son. Hopefully, you made some memories that will last a lifetime. We hope to have you visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern NC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We spent one night at Ash Grove (me, my husband, and 2 kids - aged 6 & 7). This was our first time to Western NC and we wanted to hike and see beautiful waterfalls. Ash Grove is located very close to many beautiful hikes and waterfalls. We were very impressed with the cleanliness of the campground and the owners were very warm and welcoming.

We spent one night in one of the tent sites. My only complaint was that we were in the site closet to the hot tub, which can be a bit noisy at night. We were very tired after driving and hiking all day and wanted to turn in early (around 9:30). The hot tub is open until 11, so we could hear all the people coming and going, which made it hard to sleep. Next time we will just request a site further away from the "action", haha. Not a big deal, just something to keep in mind!

Overall we really enjoyed our stay at Ash Grove and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again. Thank you for a wonderful trip!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sldmsh, Owner at Ash Grove Mountain Cabins & Camping, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for your visit to Ash Grove. We are glad that you found Ash Grove to be a clean and welcoming place. And thank you for the feedback about the hot tub. We will work harder at keeping the noise level down in that area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrisville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Perfect place if you are looking for a nice place close to nature. This is our second stay at Ash Grove. We love to "Unplug" every now and then and this place is perfect for that. The first time we stayed was in the one bedroom cabin back in March to check the place out before we came to tent camp last weekend. The cabin was spotless and had everything you needed to chill out while you were there. Cabin had satellite TV we used once to see it work. WIFI was adequate we used to look up local attractions. We hiked the trails around the camp sites and picked out a few favorites to come back to. The bath house is better than most state parks in NC. We saw how beautiful and seculed the camp sites are and knew we had to come back and pitch a tent.
If you are looking for a recreational campground with lots of activities this one is not for you. This place has recreation available but most visitors prefer the seculded "Let's Relax" atmosphere.
Okay now we stayed 4 days and 3 nights last weekend. It rained Friday night and Sunday night but beautiful the rest of the weekend. Mark and Steven are awesome hosts and they provide you with what you need for a great but secluded experience. We went downtown Brevard, the water falls and check out another campgroud we would never go to because it was too commercialized and crowded. Walmart is 15 minutes away but Brevard has every store and fast you you need.
So if you are looking for a private seculded spaced out campground Ash Grove is it. Small, quiet and perfect to unplug. BTW cell phone service is little to none so you really are unplugged and that is great. Clean well stocked bath house. Cabins super clean and well stocked with everything you need but food. See them on the web site. The look better in person.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sldmsh, Owner at Ash Grove Mountain Cabins & Camping, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you for staying with us again! We also appreciate your taking the time to write a review for Ash Grove. Our motto is "Nature Revives the Spirit" and we are happy to provide a place for you to unplug and unwind and become revived.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Many families unknowingly book a campsite here without knowing that 20 minutes away is the Pisgah National Forest, Davidson River Campground, a wonderful campground complete with roomy campsites, river tubing, trout fishing and numerous other activities onsite and with much, much more reasonable rates than this outfit with its cramped, overpriced, postage-sized sites by a noisy road. One clean bathhouse, thankfully. You can do better.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sldmsh, Owner at Ash Grove Mountain Cabins & Camping, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that your experience here was not what you wanted. Some people want a public campground with hundreds of sites and hundreds of people, lots of activity and a location on a river and a major highway, 2 minutes from WalMart. Davidson River Campground is a great spot for those people. Other people want a small, quiet, privately-owned campground with personal service and a spotless bathhouse, located on a mountaintop on a country road about 10 minutes from town. Ash Grove is a great spot for these people. We have 5 sites for smaller RVs, 17 tent sites and 4 cabins located on 14 wooded acres. Most of our sites are carved from the forest, with as minimal impact on the environment as possible, so they are not huge. Some people want other types of camping experiences and there are other campgrounds in the area, all with their own offerings and personalities. We would love to be all things to all people, but we realize that is impossible, no matter how hard we try. That is why our website has 16 pages of information, including dozens of photos and videos of what we offer, so that potential guests will know the type of place we are and can choose us if we match their wants and needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ash Grove Mountain Cabins & Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ash Grove Mountain Cabins & Camping

Address: 749 East Fork Rd, Brevard, NC 28712
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Brevard
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Brevard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nature Revives the Spirit. Revive yours at one of our fully equipped 1, 2 or 3 bedroom cabins; secluded tent sites or shady RV sites. Located on 14 wooded mountaintop acres near Brevard, Asheville, waterfalls, hiking and mountain biking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ash Grove Resort Cabins & Camping Hotel Brevard
Ash Grove Resort Cabins And Camping

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ash Grove Mountain Cabins & Camping, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.