We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint Town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hob Nob

Hob Nob
226 West Main Street, Brevard, NC 28712
(828) 966-4662
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 59 Restaurants in Brevard
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Quaint Town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

we went here on a day trip..quaint very walkable town great energy and the wonderful smell of roasting coffee beans in the air!!
we had several great restaurants to choose from but settle on Hob Nob as it had outside seating..
Good wines by the glass selections
daily Ceviche
Try the Tomato Bisque and the home made Chimichurri

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    55
    31
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Another excellent dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

We took our visiting friends to Hob Nob for dinner. We sat inside on a rainy night (outdoor seating is fabulous when the weather cooperates) and enjoyed the atmosphere of the old house. The food, as always, was enjoyed by all. If you are looking for fine dining in Brevard, don't miss eating at Hob Nob.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

I have been here before and loved it then! Great atmosphere and the trout was incredible! Going back tomorrow night for my Bday!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, NC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Complacent?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Hob Nob is one of our favorite restaurants in N.C. - we often talk about how special our meals have been there.
We dined their on July 17th and had such a different experience; the menu is still exciting with many items that appealed, but we were dismayed when our entrees appeared less than 10 minutes after entering the restaurant. When we commented on that, our waiter - who was flying through everything - said he thought we might need to get to "the concert". Well - we didn't - and it seemed as if the sense of haste in the service was conveyed to the kitchen staff who blew through the prep as well.
Have things become complacent? Is the creativity waning? Hope not - as this is historically a special place indeed.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mpls, Minnesota
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Charming home Overpriced food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Ate lunch with a group of friends. Food was tasty but very overpriced. I had the scallops special. The presentation was lovely but the food took up less than 1/2 the plate. 2.5 small scallops. Didn't appreciate the 20% gratuity added because we were a group of 8. Nearly $22 for a "snack"! Wouldn't eat here again. Skip this restaurant. Too many other nice restaurants in Brevard.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hob Nob also viewed

Brevard, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Brevard, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Brevard, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Brevard, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Hob Nob? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hob Nob, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.