We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service was great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quixote

Quixote
20 McLean Rd., Brevard, NC
8289664554
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 60 Restaurants in Brevard
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican, Pizza, Dessert, Vegetarian, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: COME EXPERIENCE BREVARD'S PREMIER FINE DINNING RESTAURANT; YOU WILL ENJOY OUR FRESH INGREDIENTS AND ELEGANT ATMOSPHERE.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Service was great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The food was wonderful. Very unique. The service was great. The server went so far as to find out a viewing spot for the "blue ghost" fireflies which are unique to this area and time of year. I thought this was one of the best Mexican dining experiences I ever had.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    28
    7
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
311 reviews
271 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Excellant Food, Service and Decor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Awesome experience. Great food, warm service including engaging conversation with the owner. Everything was freshly prepared with quality ingredients. I had the HUARACHES, a dish I'd never had before and my wife had the LOMO CHIQUITO. Both were delicious. We split an order of fresh made FLAN for dessert and it was by far the best we've ever had

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saluda, North Carolina
1 review
“Not your father's Mexican resturant”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Many items on the menu were unknown, no beers on tap, had to ask for chips and salsa. Service was very good, food was not.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VICTOR_GOMEZANGULO, Manager at Quixote, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
HI Don O My Name Is Victor And I Would Like To Know More About Your Visit To QUIXOTE in order to improve our buseniss, Can you tell me about what time did you go? who was your server? what did you eat?when was your visit? DO YOU RATE A RESTAURANT BECAUSE THE CHIPS AND SALSA OR BY THE FOOD YOU EAT?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing Authentic Mexican Fare!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

NOT cantina food here! Visited Brevard for three days and dined here twice! Very reasonably priced, exceptional service, and some of the best food I've ever eaten! I was initially apprehensive as I'm not a fan of burritos and refried beans...boy, what a pleasant surprise! Fine dining fare with true Spanish/Mexican cuisine. Amazing Carrot Soup...actually tried several soups and all were excellent and the Cucumber Dip was divine. Great wine list (try the Perelada 5 Fincas). Any of the entrees are mouth-watering (we all got something different and "sampled"). A MUST visit if you are in the area. Go early in your visit if you're staying a few days because you'll want to go back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fletcher, North Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Service was sloppy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Went here because of the good reviews. We left rather disappointed. After being told we could sit anywhere we were not acknowledged for almost 10 minutes after sitting down. Our party of 4 ordered a round of drinks. The waiters seemed to just be all over the place and very disorganized. Often asking if anyone had helped us just as the server was walking away of the table (where had they all been 10 mins before?). There were only two place settings on the tables and only until the food came did they bring 2 more. Drinks came out and waiter took our appetizer and meal order. After an extended wait the appetizer came out. We had the sampler which had a bowl of each dip offered. 2 of the 3 dips were not very good and served with dried out tortillas and chips. The meal showed up 5 mins later. The server that delivered the first half of this order did not know which plate was which or how the beef was cooked on the plates to deliver it correctly. The table was very crowded since we had not really been given the chance to start into the appetizer yet. No one ever returned to take away any of the plates so we could free up the table space.

The kabobs were very good but others in my party had what should have been a ribeye but didn't appear to be so at all. We were never offered another round of drinks or a dessert. We would have spent more but were never given the chance. Paid the check that was brought to us and left. Had drinks and dessert at another local place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VICTOR_GOMEZANGULO, General Manager at Quixote, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Hi my name is Victor and i want to thanks your recent visit to our restaurant, at the same time I want to say sorry about the inconvinience, I was our first white memorial holiday weekend and we were very busy the all weekend, We are learning and thanks again for helping us to built a better business.
cinsererly, Victor_Gomezangulo@hotmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quixote also viewed

Brevard, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Brevard, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Brevard, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Brevard, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Quixote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quixote, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.