We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cabins at Cantrell Mountain
Cabins at Cantrell Mountain
Cabins at Cantrell Mountain
front of Cabin
Downstairs living area with fireplace
Fully equipped Kitchen with stainless appliances
Dining area for those fresh caught trout meals!
Brevard
|
Rental Home – 
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
DuwoodyMi...
Dunwoody
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice mountain retreat option for family with dog”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Nice house with front porch and not far from local attractions. Nearby meadow was great for off leash exercise for our Golden Retriever. Facilities are clean and well kept. Great value!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
3 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: remote enough to allow our dog to run off leash
Liked least: gravel road to the cabin
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 11, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your time at DogWoods Retreat and that you found the meadow. Hope to see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
John E
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect for young and old (dogs and humans!)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

What a beautiful place! Quiet and relaxing. We arrived late in the night after driving for 14 hours, with our brand new 7 week old husky puppy and 3 year old Goldendoodle in tow (not to mention 2 teenage kids). The lights to the home were on and welcoming, and we relaxed the minute we stepped out of the car. A fence surrounds the entire rental home, so once we closed the gate, our dogs were free to roam inside and out. The home was new and well appointed, with hardwood floors (think new puppy and potty training!) marble counters, and leather furniture along with several dog beds and throw blankets for humans and animals to get comfortable.
The teenagers (1 boy and 1 girl) took an immediate liking to the Wi-Fi and the Dish Tv, but they too were able to break away and drink in the quiet of the woods. By mid-day on our second day I was carefully stepping over sleeping animals and kids, all stretched out on the floors and couches, as we relaxed to the slowed pace. We kept the windows open to enjoy the sound of nature, both during the sun-dappled afternoons, and the rain-misted evenings. We were sure to try out the hot tub on the deck on a star-lit evening (glass of wine within reach), along with a warm fire in the fireplace during a rainstorm.
Having the entire place enclosed in a fence was ideal for the dogs, since we could choose to leave the doors open and they could come and go as they pleased. (Coming from Minnesota, it was nice to not have to worry about mosquitos!) This helped our new puppy start house breaking early by following the older 'Doodle. They were able to wander in and out and explore on their own, and come back in to snooze at our feet.
The local town (Brevard) had plenty of shops and stores to keep us entertained, and to my wife's surprise, a very large and well-stocked health-food store. We enjoyed the family meals together, relaxing on the deck or around the dinner table, with our dogs eagerly waiting to grab any missed morsels that fell their way.
Overall--an extremely relaxing place to 'get away as from it all' so you can tune out from distractions and tune in to your spouse, kids, and animals.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Quiet solitude. Very well-appointed home in the woods.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 1, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed staying with us. We were glad to be involved with the new puppy. Hope to see you again and the puppy all grown up!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Ruthie B
Berwick, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“So beautiful and perfect...I could live here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We loved everything about Dogwoods Retreat! THe cabin is luxurious and we could not have asked for more. I loved the cleanliness of the entire cabin...the beauty of the woods surrounding it...the privateness...the deck was wonderful...we sat out on the wicker chairs every morning drinking our coffee....enjoyed supper outside one evening also...the loaction was great for being close to town and Dupont State Park also. Nan thought of every detail! We certainly want to visit again!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 18, 2013
Thank you for staying with us! We look forward to seeing you another time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Trumansburg NY
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012 for a stay in March 2012
1
person found this review helpful
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 29, 2012
Glad you enjoyed DogWoods Retreat! The locals say they miss you at the local hoot-nanny! Come and visit again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$265
/
Night
Week
Month
Additional fees may be applied by owner
Request to Book
Or, send the owner a message
Send Message
this property has payment protection
Owner
Nan W
Speaks English
Listed since : Mar 2012
Response Rate: 80 %
Calendar Updated: 4 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing