We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brevard

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brevard to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brevard
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2228 Asheville Hwy, Brevard, NC 28712   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Brevard
Augusta, Georgia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights here while hiking in the vicinity of the Blue Ridge Parkway. We found the place absolutely spotless, very comfortable, and extremely convenient. The room was a bit larger than average, in my opinion. It had a mini-fridge, microwave, and sink in the "kitchen" area, all of which worked well. Breakfast was great with the amount and variety of food well attended to by the staff. We will definitely stay here again during our next trip to the region.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    36
    17
    10
    4
See reviews for
46
46
8
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel off and on since it was built. It was a very nice place in the beginning and reasonably price. Now it's barely adequate and charges unjustified "resort" prices in season, mostly because of its location, near Pisgah National Forest.

Except for the glitzy new sign out front, it's all pretty substandard. It doesn't wear it's most recent remodel very well and, while clean, is not all that well maintained. Case in point: The entrance landscaping beds consisted of some bare dirt and dried up sticks that presumably were once flowers. Not very inviting.
Inside, the lobby looks more like a Days Inn than Holiday Inn Express, beginning with the fake wood floors in the main lobby. Hallways and rooms feature a dirt-brown theme (carpets and walls) that presumably hides the dirt but is pretty ugly. Very dated. Rooms are clean but threadbare and worn out. Matresses old, thin and a bit lumpy. Plumbing fixtures very old. TV system is a joke. Cable boxes and worn out remotes (if you can get them to work) pump out lots of ugly non-HD programming, stretched out on HD screens.
Breakfast is OK but nothing special. Hot food is better than microwave fare at the nearby Hampton (last time I stayed anyway) but nothing to rave over.
Best thing I can say is it was generally clean, the WI-FI worked well and the staff was warm and friendly. They do their best with an aging hotel I guess.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobBrevardNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brevard, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Zapatop,

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry you has some concerns about your stay.We will look into them. We are in the proces of a HDTV upgrade. Once again thanks for your feedback.

Rob
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swarthmore, PA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Not a single nit to pick about this hotel. The room, halls, elevators, lobby, breakfast room were spotless! Maid service was first rate and breakfast was as good as a great restaurant. Breakfast choices were many and well prepared. Kitchen manager was totally on the ball making sure that nothing was amiss. Really enjoyed our stay and my wife was amazed that I complained about nothing. Actually, I was very generous in tipping the maid and breakfast manager.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobBrevardNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brevard, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thanks so much for your nice comments. I will pass your comments along to our staff.

Rob
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

I drive a tour bus for a living and stay in a bunch of hotels, this one was extremely nice, clean, hot. Breakfast was much better than expected, two thumbs up! Would recommend this hotel to everyone, nice sceanery, hiking and biking close by, shops and restaurants also,

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ararat, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed here for three nights upon our arrival in the US. After almost 27 hours of travelling we arrived to be greeted by friendly staff which was nice. The room was clean and a decent size. We loved that we got a continental breakfast included as it saved walking to somewhere else.

We loved this whole area and plan to stay a lot longer next time to explore the beautiful mountains and waterfalls. I'm sure this hotel will be part of our plans. Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobBrevardNC, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brevard, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
SamanDon,

Thanks for your comments and choosing us after your long journey. We hope to see you again at the Holiday Inn Express Brevard.

Rob
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutherford, NC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We only had one night to get away during the Labor Day weekend and couldn't find a B&B that didn't have a 2 night minimum. We chose the Holiday Inn over a local motel. We stayed in the king suite with a jetted tub. We needed to rest, relax, and sleep.
Positives:
- Room was clean & spacious
- The jetted tub was good size
- Pool is way small, but clean
- Breakfast was very nice, with hot foods, pancakes, lots of juices, bagels, English muffins, and real butter.
- The bed was so very comfortable.
Negatives:

- Price is high
- We felt we were being hurried out the next morning. They had already booked our room for the next day; in fact, the entire hotel was booked for the weekend. We woke to find a "speedy checkout" paper slid under our door. We ignored it, went to breakfast, then decided to nap for a bit before checkout. Barley asleep and the cleaning service knocked on the door then entered the room. This was hours before checkout.
When I pay $200.00 a night for a room, I've paid til 11 am checkout and I don't want to feel rushed out the door.
I'd advise anyone staying here during a holiday weekend to hang a do not disturb sign on the door and tell the desk you'll leave when you're ready to leave.

Room Tip: Stay on the 2nd or 3rd floor to avoid noise. The king suite is very spacious, quiet, and dark for go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobBrevardNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brevard, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Werfamily1,

Thank you for your comments and for staying with us. Sorry we inconvenienced you with a knock on the door. We hope to see you back at the Holiday Inn Express Brevard

Rob
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny Isles Beach, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I was able to secure a king suite for a few days at just over a buck a night. I visit the area a often as my youngest attends local college and the rates at this hotel are usually less than competitive to the contrary on this visit. The room was spacious as well as very clean/spotless upon arrival and kept that way throughout our stay, kudos to housekeeping. Staff was very hospitable, and the complementary breakfast had an assortment of hot options from fresh pancakes to eggs/omelets/bacon/biscuits etc.. On future visits will check rates and call this hotel first.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobBrevardNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brevard, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thanks so much for your feedback and for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites in Brevard, NC. I am glad you found the Hotel clean and the Breakfast to your liking. We hope to see you soon.

Rob
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brevard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brevard

Address: 2228 Asheville Hwy, Brevard, NC 28712
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Brevard
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Brevard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brevard 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brevard can be found nestled in the mountains of NC near Brevard College and at the Entrance of Pisgah Nat'l Forest in the Land of the Waterfalls Hotel features include a heated outdoor pool, fitness center, free local phone calls, wireless internet access, and a complimentary Express Start breakfast. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads and pastries. We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Guest Rooms feature one King or two Queen beds and A Whirlpool Suite is also available. Visit Brevard, NC and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brevard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Brevard
Holiday Inn Brevard
Brevard Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Brevard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brevard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.