We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Boone

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Boone to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Boone
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1943 Blowing Rock Road, Hwy 321 South, Boone, NC 28607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Boone
Tennessee
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Very nice staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I was in town for a reunion, and many of us stayed at this Inn. The staff was especially helpful in getting us in touch with each other, taking messages etc, and were very pleasant about doing it. The lobby/dining area was a good place for us to gather to visit, breakfast bar was better than many, parking lot was and well lit with plenty of parking near the front.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    82
    33
    11
    8
See reviews for
79
61
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I am always cautious about reserving motel rooms in Boone because it has some of the filthiest motels I have ever run across. The Holiday Inn Express, however, is not one of them! This motel is conveniently located right off of Highway 321. If traffic is heavy, suggest entering and exiting at the traffic light at the Lowes; you can get into the motel parking lot via the Lowes parking lot. The front desk staff was EXTREMELY friendly and helpful. The room rated a 9 on my personal scale of 1 to 10 for cleanliness. There were a few little details that they need to take care of such as a few spots on the wall and some crumbs behind the headboard, but the carpets, bathroom, etc. were spotless. The air-conditioner was quiet, the flat screen TV worked well, the showerfree wireless internet, a stuffed chair for relaxing in, coffee maker, and microwave. There was hot coffee and real half and half in the lobby until at least 10:00 at night. In the morning, there is a big breakfast spread with all the expected breads, danish, yogurt, cereal, juice, fruit, waffles, as well as prep-made little omlets and bacon. The coffee was good and to-go cups were right there. The breakfast area is big, open, and attractive. All in all, it was a good place to stay and I highly recommend it as a "safe bet" in Boone.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms cost more, but the balconies are tiny little things; not worth the extra price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

This Holiday Inn Express was very clean and quiet. The mattress was far too soft and also the arm chair. Breakfast wasquite good and did the trick. Do not waste extra money for a balcony. The balcony is only about 2 feet wide and no chairs. You can only stand on the balcony so it truly is not of any use. Otherwise our stay was quite good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Pretty much what you'd want & expect from a Holiday Inn Express. Clean and comfortable. Friendly welcome at check-in - and told I could park my bike under the shelter of the entrance overnight which was great. Only complaint would be that my $1 in the vending machine delivered a 10oz bottle of water. I had no idea they made them that small.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed here on July 26, just a short stopover in route to our final destination. The staff was great, the room was clean, and the hotel in general was very well maintained.

Only complaint is the mattresses. The edges were firm, but once you moved in about four inches from the edge, you sunk to the middle.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

My wife, Patti, and I stayed at this motel during our visit to Boone and Blowing Rock from July 9 to July 11. We certainly recommend it as a nice place to stay. Upon our arrival, we were greeted in a warm manner by the Guest Services Manager and the front office staff. We discussed upgrading our reserved room and were readily accomodated with a smile. We found the housekeeping and food service staff to be friendly and helpful.as well. The motel is on a main throughfare with easy access to restaurants, attractions, and shopping. Patti and I would certainly stay in this motel again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I normally stay somewhere else when lodging in Boone, NC but decided to stay here since other people were going too. Because I was completely satisfied with my stay, I'll begin with what is great about this hotel. 1) They have an outdoor pool. Few places in Boone offer an outdoor pool; so I was very excited to know that I could relax poolside...& I enjoyed every minute. 2) The location is great. Not only is the hotel on a main road and easily visible, but it's also by a traffic light so you don't have to worry about crossing traffic unaided. 3) The staff is very accommodating. I had requested a different room upon arrival and was granted it no questions asked and without any sort of attitude. 4) The overall cleanliness is above normal standards. Staying in a clean room is the most important thing for me. While it was evident that the hotel wasn't new, the rooms were still clean.
Now for what I didn't like. 1) The breakfast closes at 9:30a. Since this is a tourist area, I would have expected the breakfast to at least remain out until 10am for late risers. 2) There isn't a fan in the bathroom. 3) The the carpet needed replacing. Even though the carpet did appear clean as a whole, I noticed stains in several places. That just looked bad and took away from the "clean" feel a bit.
Like I stated in the title, this wasn't the best I've ever stayed in but far from the worst. My stay was definitely pleasant enough for me to stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Boone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Boone

Address: 1943 Blowing Rock Road, Hwy 321 South, Boone, NC 28607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Boone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Boone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Boone 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a Video Tour of the hotel. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Boone was recipient of the 2003 Development Award as well as the 2004 and 2006 Quality Excellence Award. We are a five story, 129 room hotel offering: two room suites with fireplaces, a jacuzzi and a balcony; King rooms with jacuzzi and standard rooms with Queen beds. All guest rooms have complimentary high speed wireless internet service. This Boone hotel also features a free hot breakfast and free local phone calls. Visit Boone, NC and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Boone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Boone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Boone Hotel Boone
Holiday Inn Boone
Boone Holiday Inn Express

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Boone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.