We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the Calories and Carbs!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stick Boy Bread Co

Stick Boy Bread Co
345 Hardin St, Boone, NC 82607
828-268-9900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 135 Restaurants in Boone
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Baltimore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Worth the Calories and Carbs!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

My first trip here was before Thanksgiving a couple of years ago when our son, who live there, was hosting dinner. We went in JUST to get rolls, and left with white rolls, wheat rolls, stuffing bread, a baguette and a cherry pie. Since then, our son is responsible for bringing rolls and cherry pie to every event!

For his birthday (OK, he's our only kid, so cut me some slack!), we order a carrot cake every year.
This year when we visit, I'm getting the raisin bread to make French toast.

We live in an major East Coast city where there are some excellent artisianal bakeries, and Stick Boy is right up there!

When I call to inquire about different breads or to make purchases, the staff is alwasy knowledgeable and helpful.

I've been very impressed by both the service and quality here. Definitely check it out!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SkippinWork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Gotta stop here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Excellent baked goods and coffee. There is no where to eat in the shop but you will not be disappointed with any baked good that you choose. Ended up buying more than I could eat at one sitting but not more than I wanted.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Srothu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fine coffee, yummy baguettes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We went here during a very short stay in Boone. I got a coffee with a shot of espresso and it was perfect and fair trade, too. We also got one baguette, which was pretty good--nice, crispy crust and a decent crumb. The blueberry muffin was a little plain but definitely ok. The atmosphere was a little strange, though--we didn't know where we were supposed to order. The staff was friendly--the barista very much a pro. Lots and lots of students because the bakery is located on a very busy street surrounded by residence halls.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MistyB409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious food, distracted counter servers.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Visited many times and never disappointed by rhe quality of the baked goods. Wish there was one in my town!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JLGibbs02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davie, FL
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Visited Stick Boy twice while in Boone last week. Fantastic breads and their cinnamon roll was to die for. Friendly staff and atmosphere. wish they had a location near us!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bobbi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stick Boy Bread Co also viewed

Boone, North Carolina Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Stick Boy Bread Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing