We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love Joy Bistro” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Joy Bistro

Joy Bistro
115 New Market Center, Boone, NC 28607
+1 828-265-0500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 127 Restaurants in Boone
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Italian, French, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Umatilla, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“love Joy Bistro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Having an appetizer, salad and entree has been too much in the past, so my husband and I shared a salad, prosciutto, almond, and fig. Fantastic. Complex tastes. My husband had the soft ribs and I had the pork chop with roasted veggies. The sauce was superb. The chop very tasty. The best part was the peach and ginger cocktail. Like the food, it has a complex taste and is excellent. The service was great. Our waitress took exceptional care of us. She was there when we needed her, but didn't drive us crazy by asking every few minutes if everything was OK.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    26
    8
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boone, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Save your money and time.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Food, service and drinks were ALL overrated, $100 for 2 people, I want to be satisfied but stuffed in a small

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B Rock
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Not a bad restaurant, just overrated.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We;ve eaten here three or four time in the past few months.....never have been really impressed but have food that has ranged from very good down to average. Service has never been better than 'pretty good' and it seems like at least half of the time when the kitchen is busy, they take forever getting out orders.....and receiving warm food instead of hot seems to be a frequent problem.
The dining room is nice enough....small and cozy, clean and with a small bar in the corner. They have also done a pretty good job with their outside seating....dressing it up as much as possible BUT, it's still at the edge of the parking lot and nothing can disguise that.

I've given this place several opportunities....one experience was MAYBE worthy of 4 stars, but every other time has been "average" at best. It's not a bad place, food is pretty good - not great but pretty good....service varies and, for the price, you can do a lot better.

If you are going to pay these prices, you can do better!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Joy Bistro was recommended to us by a local - and I am so glad she did! The scallops au poivre were heavenly. We shared a shrimp bisque soup which was very very good. My husband had duck, and it was also excellent. I read other reviews that complained a little about the location/ambience. I had no problem at all with it. Our server was very helpful and professional. My only regret is not being able to sample dessert. We were too full!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, GA
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

To us, Boone, NC was just a place to stop for the night on our way back to Ga from visiting in WV.

In a shopping mall across the street from were we were staying at the Country Inns and Suites was the Bistro. Since no other place would be as convenient, we went.

Lucky us.

In a pleasant room with very nice, competent and professional staff we had a very good dinner at a reasonable price.

With our opening drinks we shared the very good mini crab cake appetizers. We then went on to the scallops (very good) and the salmon (quite good) for mains, and finished with the cheese tray - local artisanal cheeses that were not available at the supermarket. With coffee, wine and tip $160.

Highly recommended

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joy Bistro also viewed

Boone, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Boone, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Joy Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joy Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.