We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food, but noisy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vidalia

Vidalia
831 W King St, Boone, NC 28607-3466
828-263-9176
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 127 Restaurants in Boone
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Raleigh, NC
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Delicious food, but noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The food at Vidalia is delicious -- interesting arrangements and combinations, very expertly prepared. The service is very attentive and helpful. BUT the place is NOISY!!! It's a very small space and tables are tightly packed and the place is usually full. So, if you want to have a conversation with your dining partners, choose somewhere else. If you are more interested in food than conversation, then this is your place. It is also not an inexpensive venture.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    31
    16
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Local cuisine with a special touch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

This tiny restaurant fills up quickly and we had been traveling all day so we decided to beat the crowd and eat early. We are glad we did. The restaurant feels like a cozy local haunt, our waitress was very nice and gave good service. My husband started with a very delicious bibb Caesar salad with dressing on the side, his main meal was called chicken and dumplings but instead with sweet potato gnocchi (I found them to be very doughy and no taste of sweet potato) in a rich cream sauce. While my husband had his salad I enjoyed a blood orange San Pellegrino and Pinot. I had read about guests raving about the trout so that is what I had and I am glad I did. I had two generous portions of oat crusted trout filet that were mounded on top of preserved lemon dressed micro greens (very small portion of greens), generous portions of rich cornbread and perfectly cooked carrot medallions and green beans, all very nicely plated. I consumed the entire dish and was so full we resisted dessert. Great stop in Boone!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious through and through!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This place was a little more on the upscale side and we were dressed super casual from hiking earlier. The service was fantastic, the food was outstanding, and it had a great ambiance.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Just Plain Delicious and Creative.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

I love trout and I was not disappointed with this one. I liked also the art on the walls. Great service. I also like that they will split the check for you if requested when ordered.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, Indiana
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Delicious.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We stumbled upon Vidalia while searching TripAdvisor for a local BBQ joint. The entire family was wanting to experience the local cuisine while we were vacationing near Boone and I am so glad we chose Vidalia!! We were actually being served by the co-owner (something we discovered after seeing her picture framed in the back near the restrooms), which explained her perfect knowledge of each dish. We started with the delightful onion rings and macaroni and cheese appetizers. We later added their steamed mussels appetizer much to the delight of my husband. I joined several in our family and selected the crab cakes for my entree, adding a side of the fabulous "grown up" macaroni and cheese. Perfect service and impeccably prepared food. Who could ask for more? I would recommend reservations - We called ahead for our party of 12. The restaurant was surprisingly full for a Wednesday night.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vidalia also viewed

Boone, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Boone, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Vidalia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vidalia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.