We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vidalia

Vidalia
831 W King St, Boone, NC 28607-3466
828-263-9176
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 126 restaurants in Boone
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Frankfort, KY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Enjoyed the food, service and setting...the bibb salad was excellent, did not have Tanqueray in bar.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    124
    23
    10
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boone, North Carolina
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I ate here with my wife on Valentine's and it was awesome. Food is exceptional and the service is even better. Great place. We will be back.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What a shame”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

After reading the mostly great reviews, my husband and I decided to try this restaurant. We were so disappointed. Not only was the restaurant tiny, stuffy and loud, the service was mediocre and the food was absolutely terrible. I've never been to a "fine dining" establishment that has so much fried food items on their menu. The food was as if I was eating at a glorified Applebee's except I was paying double for gross heavy food. I'm all about eating southern food with a twist, but just simply deep frying everything is hardly what I would call southern fine dining. Besides the food sitting very heavy in our stomachs, there was no flavor whatsoever, the vegetables were the most edible thing but even those weren't the greatest. We tried dessert thinking they might be able to redeem themselves with that, all we ended up doing was wasting more money. This is totally an embarrassment to what southern food should be, save your money and go elsewhere.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle Furnace, TN, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Towering burger”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

While staying at The Mast Farm Inn in nearby Valle Crucis, the innkeeper Danielle recommended Vidalia. It was a sterling rec. We began with an eggroll special and the mac n' cheese starter (which is different than the side order). The eggrolls were good but I don't remember them too well, meaning they were definitely not the best item to hit our table that evening. The mac n cheese, I remember. Oh, the goat cheese and panko made it so delicious and molten. Mmmmm. Then our mains arrived. JJC had the house burger, which comes with a vidalia onion ring on top of it. I'm not sure I've ever seen a taller burger in real life. It was insane. And the burger was reportedly as good as the size was large. I had the chicken and waffles. The frying was light and delicate while the chicken was so juicy and tender. Adding the fluffy waffles and succulent gravy to a bite of that chicken was mmmm-mmmmm heaven.

Service was great and the beer selection, while a bit limited, was good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McCalla, AL
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“YUMMY!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We ate here on a recommendation of a local. It was delicious. You must have the onion ring appetizer! I had shrimp and grits and my husband had a burger for entree. We left the restaurant very pleased!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vidalia also viewed

Boone, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Boone, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Vidalia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vidalia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.