We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food and Excellent Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hokkaido Japanese Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Hokkaido Japanese Restaurant
276 Watauga Village Dr Ste K, Boone, NC 28607
(828) 263-0350
Improve this listing
Ranked #59 of 126 restaurants in Boone
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Plymouth, NC
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Good Food and Excellent Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

While in Boone last weekend, my husband and I decided to try the Hokkaido Japanese Restaurant based on some local reviews. When we got there, it was not crowded and we were seated immediately. The server was very quick to come get our drink orders and returned quickly to take our orders. We both ordered hibachi steak. Before the main course, they brought out the soup, which was nothing more than broth, but not much different from other Japanese restaurants we have eaten at. The salad with the shrimp sauce was very fresh and tasty. The steak arrived with cooked carrots and rice. All of the food was cooked well and was tasty. While not the greatest Japanese restaurant we have eaten at, we were very satisfied with the food, service and the price. Our meal was slightly less thatn $20 and we had more than enough to eat.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    5
    5
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boone, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“decent Japanese food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Not bad, but I suggest Makoto's if you're going for quality food.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“entree okay-soup tasteless”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

Good for students-lots of food for money. Otherwise, just okay. Soup had no taste at all. Could not even taste broth. Steak overcooked.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very good Japanese food for the money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2009

I have lived in Boone for four years, and I love either eating at Hokkaido or getting takeout because their food is so good. Like any standard Japanese meal here in the United States, you start off with a soup with green onions and a few mushrooms that is delicious in itself, then you get a salad with basically lettuce with a choice of shrimp sauce or ginger sauce, then your entree comes and I usually get the Hibachi Chicken dinner entree with shrimp sauce and mushrooms instead of carrots and it is so great. They also have plenty of other things including seaweed salad, shrimp, steak, scallops, lobster, and a lot of others things. I definitely recommend to anyone that enjoys rice and Japanese food. They have a lunch menu as well, with the entrees you can choose either soup or salad, and the lunch menu is really reasonable.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina, USA
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“good for cheap eats”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2008

good for cheap eats

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hokkaido Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Boone, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Boone, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Hokkaido Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hokkaido Japanese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.