We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local Favorite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Onion Cafe

Red Onion Cafe
227 Hardin St, Boone, NC 28607-4156
828-264-5470
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Red Onion Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #37 of 127 Restaurants in Boone
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $23
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Huntsville, Alabama
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Local Favorite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Dined outside and people watched. Service was very good. The Onion soup and french dip sandwich were amazing! Definitely a place I would recommend for lunch, very casual!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    57
    40
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great start to our vacation!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This was our first meal in Boone and it set the bar pretty high. Four ladies had lunch here on a Saturday, fairly late in the day. We were able to get a lovely outdoor table and had excellent service. The make-your-own lunch combo is a real winner: from a selection of soups, salads, sandwiches and quiches, you can pick any two for about $7.95 so you get exactly what you want and at a very reasonable price. The specials of the day looked so good that I ordered the roasted red pepper soup with a multi-cheese quiche. Others had a BLT, and creative salads, portions were quite generous. A nice wine selection rounded out a wonderful lunch.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Expected better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Seems like a nice place but on our visit, service was dreadfully slow and poor. My son's salad came out after his entree, my dinner salad was messed up three ways...slow, no dressing and without the toppings I requested. I had a Chinese salad that came with a supposed sweet chili dressing that really seemed just sweet. The other meals were fine but not overwhelming. Average.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairsville, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great food in the mountains!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

We are visiting Boone and read about the Red Onion and had to try it. I had the Wild Mushroom Lagsana and my husband had spinach and artichoke quesadillas.He also had the homemade onion rings. We highly recommend this. We defiantly will return whenever in Boone.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Definitely recommend!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I were in Boone for just one night following our drive along the Blue Ridge Parkway. We decided on Red Onion Cafe based on the recommendation of our hotel's front desk representative. It had a great atmosphere, very cozy and inviting. We shared the artichoke dip appetizer which was very tasty. I was pleasantly surprised that it was more artichokes and less mayonnaise as it should be! For my entree I had the rainbow trout which was also very good. Everything was fresh and delicious and the service was exceptional. We both loved it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Onion Cafe also viewed

Boone, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Boone, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Red Onion Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Onion Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.