We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, good prices, nice atmosphere.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pepper's Restaurant and Bar

Pepper's Restaurant and Bar
240 Shadowline Drive, Ste 4, Boone, NC 28607-4961
+1 828-262-1250
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 126 restaurants in Boone
Price range: $0 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
LINVILLE
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food, good prices, nice atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

I've eaten at Pepper's my entire life. Does anyone remember a Pepper's location in Linville? Well, I do! I've consistently had good food. This visit I had the Blackened Mahi sandwich. It was delicious and perfectly cooked. I had fresh fruit for my side item. The fruit here is always very fresh and presented beautifully. Desserts here are phenomenal as well. The sour cream apple pie is my favorite apple pie anywhere. I highly recommend Pepper's!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    62
    52
    24
    17
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“BEST SANDWICH EVER”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

If you love Turkey sandwiches, then you gotta try this one out...Its called the Jean Lawson special named after the actual lady who thought it up...turkey,marinated mushrooms,onions,green peppers,pepper jack cheese on a steamed kaiser roll...WOW!!! its the best

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Very, Very Bad Experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

I'm in town for a conference at Appalachian State and went with a group of 14 folks last night to Pepper's. It was crowded but they had reserved a table for us. We started out well but the night went downhill quickly thereafter. Our waiter was very personable and quite possibly, the only redeeming element of the experience. Not long after we had ordered he brought out salad bar plates for everyone at the table with the announcement that the kitchen was backed up and we each could have a complementary salad bar. Nice touch. I'd also ordered a French Onion Soup, which was quite good. Our waiter then came to the table and asked if we would mind having our entrees come as they became ready, as opposed to all at once. No problem we said, we'll do that. Approximately one hour later, the last person at the table received their meal. During this time the waiter remarked to us that the kitchen had a $400 catering order that took precedence over our orders, this while maybe three of our entrees had been delivered to the table.

I'd ordered the Blackened Chicken Pasta with vegetables. When it got to the table, it was gummy mess, chicken overdone and what few vegetables came with it were cooked beyond comprehension. I ate about a third of the thing and gave up. One of my companions had ordered the Teriyaki Chicken which came out blackened, with a small container of Teriyaki sauce.

We finally all finished and cashed out, with no recognition by any of the other staff or management about how badly treated the table had been. As I look at all of the glowing reviews for the place, I'm wondering if we didn't accidentally wonder into a Pepper's in an alternative universe.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great Place thats a Boone Classic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Peppers is a great place to come to for some great food. I usually come in when they have there specials which is almost everyday. Monday is half priced apps, Tuesdays is Mahi Mahi tacos for $2 and Wednesday is wing night. My favorite there is the catfish. Not many places in Boone have catfish so I thoroughly enjoy it. The service is excellent they make you feel like a part of the family which is always nice. They always have great drink specials also.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
241 reviews 241 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“A local favorite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

back in town for a few days and met a friend for lunch. seated promptly. waiter got to us quickly, took drink orders and provided menus. had a really tasty french dip sandwich and my friend had a meatball sandwich. we also both had the salad bar. the salad bar is quite simple but very tasty and satisfying. enough options to make it interesting but not so many that you forget it is actually a salad bar. modest price, good service, good food - a winner in my book

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pepper's Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Boone, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Boone, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Pepper's Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pepper's Restaurant and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.