We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filthy!!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Dos Amigos

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Dos Amigos
187 New Market Ctr, Boone, NC 28607-3992
828-265-1674
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 126 restaurants in Boone
Price range: $3 - $17
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
USA-NC
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Filthy!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Our stomachs are still reeling from dinner at Dos Amigos. There is a practice amongst foodies, and that is if you want to know how clean the kitchen is in a restaurant, check out its restrooms.
Wish there was another word for filthy! Their women's room looked like it had not been cleaned or serviced all day. Wish I would have checked it out before our dinner. We told the managerial looking fellow at the cash register, but he didn't call any of the employees over to fix the problem right away. He just kept taking money.
Speaking of which, I completely agree with the other reviewer. The only thing good about this restaurant's food was its chips. We had to ask for different salsa as this was definitely not homemade. The guac was a baby food-like puree--probably pre-frozen. The refried beans? Also a puree and no seasoning.
I had a vegetarian combo and couldn't tell the difference between the 2 items, except one had shredded lettuce on it and the other didn't. Husb. had a steak dish--very grisly.
It's located next to the movie theater, which is probably why it's busy. There are other options in this strip mall!
Skip this restaurant!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    31
    16
    11
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Mexican Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The BEST BURRITO in town. Very nice people - good service - yummy margarita. We will be back on our next visit to Boone! It was that good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greer, South Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We visited Dos Amigos based on a recommendation by the hotel staff, and it was definitely a great recommendation. Upon arrival, it seemed like there would be a long wait based on the crowd and parking, but we were seated in about 5 minutes. The food was really great, and we love us some Mexican food. I had the Chile Verde which was enough to feed 3 people. The verde sauce was perfect, and it came with huge chunks of tender pork. Hubby had the el burro de la Roqueta (pollo). Both were so tasty. We would recommend that you ask for the spicy salsa, too--so good. The only mediocre item was the margaritas--they lacked flavor. The waitstaff was attentive. Tip them well, because they have to wear mariachi uniforms. Ole!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

From the Chips and Salsa to our main course the food was bland and not authentic at all. The chips were cold, the salsa had no taste, the guacamole tasted packaged not fresh and I couldn't tell the difference between the tamales and enchiladas. As anyone knows theres a big difference. The Margarita's were way too sweet, so they had to be a bottled mix. Would never recommend.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA in the mountains
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“I lived in Texas and this is Good Mexican food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Yes, I lived in Texas for many years and love Tex-Mex cooking. This lovely restaurant is the kind of place that I would love to go to at least once a week. They even use the real Mexican cheese, which so many don't. Love it. Friendly staff and a not-too-shabby margarita, which one can get by the glass or pitcher. Ahhh....this is super!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dos Amigos also viewed

Boone, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Boone, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Dos Amigos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dos Amigos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.