We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to eat!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bandana's Bar B Que & Grill

Bandana's Bar B Que & Grill
1475 NC Hwy 105 Byp, Boone, NC 28607
(828) 265-2828
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 127 Restaurants in Boone
Cuisines: American
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Elizabethton, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great place to eat!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

The food was very good and the staff was very friendly! My friends and I were having a girl's day out shopping and we came across Bandanas, so glad we stopped! I would recommend this place to anyone and I will definitely go back! By the way, try the Toll House Cookie dessert, it's amazing :)

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    45
    18
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morganton, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Big Letdown”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We recently dined at Bandana's BBQ in Boone NC and I have to say that I was really disappointed. I had the "smoked turkey breast" which turned out to be turkey loaf with BBQ sauce poured on it. I personally smoke turkey breasts occasionally and this was not even close to what I can produce on a Brinkmann smoker at home. My daughter got the "Down South" sandwich and honestly I think it was some kind of canned BBQ concoction. I was really disappointed and won't be back. The service was poor too, so overall this visit was a flop. Sorry.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, North Carolina
1 review
“Amazing service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Throughout college Bandanas always had great food and was a favorite place to go out for dinner. Recently, I have been back to visit and have just been floored by the amazing customer service! The food is good, but the service makes the experience! Will be back on our next visit to Boone :)

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Wales, Fl
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A family tradition!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Our first visit to Bandana's was over a decade ago. We do not go to the mountains without a stop at Bandana's in Boone. The BBQ Cheese Fries are wonderful. Our family enjoy a variety from the ribs, pulled pork and their special version of sloppy bbq. The value is typical for a bbq restaurant, the food is great and the service has always been excellent.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The ribs are so tender they fall off the bone. We had a sampler platter which included St Louis ribs as well as baby backs, chicken, pulled pork and turkey. The chicken was dry and a bit overcooked but other than that everything was great.

The salad bar was a plus. Very fresh, crisp lettuce! The service was also awesome. I will be eating there again on my next visit.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bandana's Bar B Que & Grill also viewed

Boone, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Boone, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Bandana's Bar B Que & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bandana's Bar B Que & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.