We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't go back” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cilantro's Mexican Grill & Cantina

Cilantro's Mexican Grill & Cantina
783 W. King Street, Suite I, Boone, NC
+1 828-386-4094
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #77 of 127 Restaurants in Boone
Price range: $4 - $13
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Dinner, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Banner Elk, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Won't go back”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

We are big fans of the fresh "Tex-Mex" type of Mexican food, and we still have not found it anywhere in this area yet. While not very expensive, our food lacked any spice and was very mediocre. I ordered a Bloody Maria and had to explain to our waiter what it was. Maybe he was new, or didn't understand me, or maybe the bartender was out - but when my drink came it consisted of a shot of watered down tequila with ice and a splash of tomato juice so that the drink was slightly tinged with red but I could see right thru it. Employees were sitting at a dirty booth doing paperwork the entire time we were there. Maybe it was a bad day for them, but this was our first visit, and our last.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    7
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Delicious ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2014

We came across this place while driving around Boone. It was delicious! The tacos were amazing and so were the margaritas. The cheese dip has a little kick for those of us that like no spice whatsoever but it was still delicious. Definitely recommend as it is great food at a very low price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinston, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent service, great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

We visited on a Monday night at 8pm. We were greeted and seated immediately, and the service was really good. No complaints at all.The drinks, chips and salsa came quickly, and so did our order. The wait staff was very attentive and we lacked for nothing. The place is colorful and bright without being tacky, and it was a comfortable atmosphere. We will be going back soon.

  • Visited December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Service was nonexistent!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

Visited Cilantro's this afternoon around 2:30 pm after seeing commercials. We were seated quickly and had chips and salsa. We ordered after waiting about 10 mins. Very few in the restaurant. People left and others came in. Then everyone who came in after us started getting served. No one checked on us and really did not see the guy who took our order. There was one gal working there who kept sitting in an empty booth and playing on her phone. At 3:17 we were so fed up with everyone who came in after us being served that we finally got upto leave. One table was right next to us! They avoided looking at us. I stood at the door for a while to hopefully speak to someone but they all disappeared. So I have no idea about the food but our service was TERRIBLE!

  • Visited October 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“If you want to go hungry”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

Was in a group of three and two tables that came in after us (one with three adults and three kids, a couple) had food and the people working there were sitting at their open tables on their phones, even when we were walking out they didn't bother to say anything to us. We were there for almost 40 mins!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cilantro's Mexican Grill & Cantina also viewed

Boone, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Boone, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Cilantro's Mexican Grill & Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cilantro's Mexican Grill & Cantina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.