We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Yonahlossee Resort Accommodations

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Boone
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yonahlossee Resort Accommodations
Save
You added Yonahlossee Resort Accommodations to your Saves list
250 Cockley Beck, Boone, NC 28607 (Formerly The Inn at Yonahlossee)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Boone
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

I was very disappointed with my stay at Yonahlossee. Our studio cabin was beautiful, but my praise ends there. The indoor pool was closed, and breakfast consisted of boxes of cereal, toast, and microwavable grits, and a few fruits. The second night we were there, there were a few inches of snow, and the roads were only partially plowed twice, and not after 4:00. Our cottage was on a steep hill, so we were unable to go anywhere for dinner, and had to go without food all night! We called the emergency number, but it was listed incorrectly in the guide book in our room. We were given a small amount of money back for our inconvenience. I saved money for 3 months (I'm a stay-at-home Mom) for this weekend getaway, and it's so frustrating to see your money wasted.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ahutchens, Owner at Yonahlossee Resort Accommodations, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
We are very sorry that you felt your experience at Yonahlossee Resort wasn't what you would have liked. We try very hard during inclement weather to take care of road conditions as best as possible. This weekend in particular we were faced with temperatures in the single digits and 60 mile per hour winds. Sometimes, even with 24 hour plowing, conditions such as these can not be surmounted. The Yonahlossee Racquet Club did close early on this Saturday, without giving us prior notice. We apologized to this guest and refunded $50 of the stay, out of our pocket, for the inability to use the pool facilities, which we do not operate, only have use of. The guest asked to be contacted on the Monday following their stay to seek additional compensation from the Racquet Club, however when contacted they indicated that the refunded amount was sufficient. We try to provide a high level of customer service at Yonahlossee Resort and were very disappointed that this guest was not satisfied with their experience. Winter can be tricky in the mountains! We encourage this guest to come join us again during the summer or possibly the fall. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    7
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
10
14
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
north carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

Due to confusion on our part, we arrived at Honeybear Campground a week early. They called The Inn at Yonahlossee Resort to get us accommodations there. We were greeted by the Innkeeper, Lucy the black kitty. The room was spacious but cozy, with cabin-style furnishings. Beautiful views. It's well worth the extra you will pay to stay there. Not for party-goers, as Quiet Time starts at 10 pm--which is wonderful. Quiet Time is gently but firmly enforced. Lucy is the sweetest, friendliest kitty this side of Winston-Salem. The people at the desk were very friendly and accommodating. The continental breakfast was very good--with more variety than usual. And everything tasted fresh! Definitely a keeper! The bed had a lot of pillows, and though not pillowy soft, if you like a relatively firm mattress, the bed was comfortable. The room could have more lighting for reading or knitting. When we asked for a later checkout time, we were graciously given much more time than expected.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

We stayed at the Inn the week before Christmas 2010. I absolutely fell in love with the place before we walked in...as I was greeted in the parking lot by this sweet cat, Lucy. Our room was very clean and cozy. Our window looked over a lawn where we saw a deer one evening. The entire Yonahlossee area is lovely, with horses and tennis courts. We were not able to enjoy either one of those activities because there was snow on the ground. The Inn is super convenient to both Blowing Rock and Boone. The staff was incredibly friendly and helped us navigate the area. They suggested a great hike for us which we thoroughly enjoyed. I would love to return in any season, but Christmas was beautiful with the trees and decorations.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

Just spent the weekend in one of the studio cabins here and we absolutely loved it!! The cabin was very clean and the king sized bed with the down comforter made sleeping so heavenly!!
Walk down to the main lodge and have your free continental breakfast...everything is fresh and the breakfast room is very cozy!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

Stayed here to do some hiking and see the Fall colors. The Inn was full, and we booked the last studio cabin available so we were unsure if we were going to get the least desirable cabin at the resort but we were pleasantly surprised! The studio cabins are exactly as described and the photos on the Yonahlossee site are true to what the resort actually looks like in person. We had 2 Queens, a kitchenette, a small living area with a sofa and chair, a nice porch and a gas fireplace (and yes, we used it, it worked well and we enjoyed it very much). There are 2 cabins in each building but we had no noise issues, even though the place was completely booked. The TV was teensy tiny, but we didn't care as there is so much to do in the area. The bathroom was nice and large and very clean, in fact the whole cabin was immaculate. Staff is wonderful, very knowledgeable and friendly. Blowing Rock is a few miles away and the Blue Ridge Pkwy entrance is as well. We hiked the carriage trails of the Moses Cone property and enjoyed each trail. The best part about this place? It is across the street from a fabulous restaurant, The GameKeeper. The food and service were both fantastic! We would highly recommend making reservations though, we were VERY glad we had done that. Valle Crucis is close, as is Linville Falls. We love Blowing Rock and have stayed at The Village Inns in the past, but the Yonahlossee Resort is our new favorite place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catawba NC
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

The Inn at Yonahlossee is the by far the cleanist place I hace ever stayed. The staff is very nice and helpful. It is quite and peaceful. I would highly recommend this Inn.

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

Stayed in one of the cabins for a 3-day weekend. The room was clean, spacious and comfortable. The hotel is convenient to Blowing Rock and Boone.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yonahlossee Resort Accommodations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yonahlossee Resort Accommodations

Address: 250 Cockley Beck, Boone, NC 28607 (Formerly The Inn at Yonahlossee)
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Boone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Boone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yonahlossee, a natural resort, a place where families gather and couples celebrate. Offering intimate Inn Rooms, cozy cottages, and elegant vacation rental homes in the heart of the Blue Ridge Mountains. Located just minutes from Blowing Rock, the Blue Ridge Parkway, and all area attractions including splendid views, beautiful waterfalls and Mother Nature at her finest! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Yonahlossee Hotel Boone
Hotel At Yonahlossee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yonahlossee Resort Accommodations, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.