We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Location and Friendly Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inns & Suites Boone

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inns & Suites Boone to your Saves list
Country Inns & Suites Boone
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   818 E King Street, Boone, NC 28607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Boone
GreenLeadersBronze level
Raleigh, NC
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Nice Location and Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This past weekend I went to Boone just to get away. I took 3 of my children and we stayed at this hotel. I got one of the 2 room suites. The room was clean, breakfast was good, and the staff was friendly. It is not a 5 star hotel, but it met our needs for the night we stayed. The location worked well for us and having 2 rooms really helped. I have no issue staying here again.

Room Tip: if you need a rollaway just ask they do have them
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie O, General Manager at Country Inns & Suites Boone, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback about our hotel. We value the feedback from our guest. We discuss our trip advisor reviews during our morning meetings with all of our staff and they love hearing about how our guest enjoyed their stay. I am glad that you were able to enjoy and take part in our free hot breakfast. We look forward to serving you again in the future when you are back in the Boone NC area.

Thank you
Stephanie O'Brien
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    91
    37
    16
    6
See reviews for
116
63
16
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I would like to start off by saying all the staff were very kind and considerate. I dealt with Bain over the phone and I believe Stephanie at the hotel itself and both were excellent to speak and deal with. A wonderful surprise were the cookies by the desk that were fresh made and free to guests. The room was comfortable and included a fridge/coffee maker to my wife's delight. The breakfast in the morning also was very good but standard continental breakfast fare of eggs, ham, waffles, fruit, apple/orange juice, danishes, and cereal. Just make sure to arrive early if you want a seat. At first we thought it was spacious enough for everyone, but then it appeared the hotel all arrived at once and people were standing waiting for tables. My children loved the pool although a bit on the small side and I loved the hottub to soak in after the run that I was in the area for. My only complaint has to do with billing. The room was booked on Country Inn website a couple months prior. The day before we were to arrive my credit card was billed for double the cost of the stay. A quick call to the hotel and Bain stated he would refund my credit card for the overcharge (he was very apologetic and took care of everything promptly). While I had Bain on the phone, asked if it was possible to check in early on arrival day and he said just to give a call an hour ahead and they would make sure to clean a room so we could check in. On the drive to Boone on arrival day, I get an email from credit card saying another charge for the room went thru! Since I was on my way I decided I would just take care of it on arrival but I was very discouraged at this point. Upon arrival I asked to speak with the manager directly who I believe is Stephanie. Again she was very kind as I explained I received a 3rd charge for the room on my card, but I at this point am mildly upset about having to deal with the overcharge AGAIN. She promptly refunded the card and gave me a receipt and was very apologetic. Although the stay was fine, I don't know if I'll ever try staying at another Carlson property again due to the fiasco with the credit card charges.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie O, General Manager at Country Inns & Suites Boone, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We truly value the comments from our guest. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and would like to apologize again about the credit card issue. I have spoken with our front desk associates and reiterated the importance of verify charges and preauthorization’s on our guest accounts. I do sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you and your family when you are back in the Boone NC area.

Thank you
Stephanie O'Brien
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I booked a room here several months in advance. I thought I saw that I could cancel with no charge but I must have been confused. As it turns out, I needed to change the dates and the new rate was totally out of my budget. So, I tried to cancel my reservation over a month in advance. I was told there were no refunds and to cancel I would have to pay the full amount of the reservation. Well...they hadn't charged my card yet and they still wouldn't let me cancel!
So If I don't show up for the reservation, they will charge me. If I cancel more than a month in advance they will charge me. I think this policy is ridiculous! They have plenty of time to re-book the room. I think they could have worked with me on this. I wonder if they treat emergencies the same way? Either way, I will never stay at a Country Inns & Suites anywhere at anytime.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlsonRezidor, Online Support Specialist at Country Inns & Suites Boone, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for the issues you encountered while attempting to cancel or adjust your reservation. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services. We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpha Ohio
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We had driven the wonderful Blue Ridge Parkway most of the day and were tired when we arrived at this Hotel. Shortly after dinner we were sound asleep... and then there was Bob.
---The phone rang just before midnight and it was the man on the desk, Bob, and he wanted to know if I was me...Really. I said "Hello" and he asked "Are you Mr. XxXxxx?" and I said "Yes, why have you called me?" and he said "I wanted to know if you were Mr. XxXxxxx."
---At this point my dear wife of 50 years is hanging from the ceiling wondering if the building is on fire, and since the call made no sense to me either, I got dressed and went to the lobby... and then there was Bob.
---"Sir, I am the man you just awakened from a sound sleep to ask me if I was me: what was that all about? Is something wrong that I need to know about." Now, Bob is not a talker: her is more of a grunter, but after asking him quite a few questions it seems as if they checked me in on paper but not on the computer (or vice-versa, depending on how your interpret Bob's grunts) and my wife and I were awakened so Bob could fix the paperwork.
---of course none of this was Bob's fault: he was quick to blame it on the "college kids they make me work with."
---When I asked Bob if the hotel was sold out he said it wasn't, at which point I tried to help him see that all we would have had to do was sell the other rooms and leave mine out of the mix. His response was a clever "Well I gave you a discount on your bill." to which I said "Bob, throwing money at problems never fixes the problems... if it was about money I would have stayed someplace else."
---Our stay was ruined by one man's inconsiderate and unthinking behavior.
---We have subsequently recieved an email from the Manager apologizing, but here is your fair warning.... if Bob still works there unplug your phone.

Room Tip: If Bob still works here.... unplug your phone so he cant call you at midnight to find out if you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie O, General Manager at Country Inns & Suites Boone, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback for our Country Inn & Suites regarding your recent visit with us. I understand that receiving the phone call so late could have startled you and your wife and I do want to apologize for any inconvenience that you may have experienced because of this. However it is very important and vital that we know where our guests are located in the hotel. If we were to have any type of emergency we would need to know where every guest was located and how many people were in each room. We try to be very diligent in following our established check in procedures however sometimes something may be missed. If that is the case then our staff are instructed to follow up with the guest and verify the accuracy of our records. Again I want to apologize to you personally. I do hope that if you are back in the Boone NC area that you will give us another opportunity to serve you and your wife.

Thank you
Stephanie O'Brien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I stayed here for one night as I was passing through Boone. Both the PM and AM staff were very friendly. Our room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was plentiful and the folks serving it were attentive and replenished items quickly. It was nice to eat on real plates and drink coffee from a real mug. The morning view from the deck off of the breakfast room made my day before it really even started. Great place to stay. I would come back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie O, General Manager at Country Inns & Suites Boone, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your recent stay with us at the Country Inn & Suites in Boone NC. I am so excited that you were able to sit on the balcony and enjoy the view. It really is beautiful out there. We hope to see you and be able to serve you again in the future when your travels bring you back to the Boone NC area.

Thank you
Stephanie O'Brien
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Basic affordable lodging with complimentary breakfast. We had a large king room for two nights. Decent, but few comfort touches. Very loud room air conditioner. Bathrooms may not be suitable for older visitors - very low toilets, no hand rails for the tub-shower. Still not a bad place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie O, General Manager at Country Inns & Suites Boone, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback for our Country Inn & Suites regarding your recent stay with us. I am so glad that you were able to take part in our free hot breakfast while you were staying with us. We hope to be able to serve you again in the future when your travels bring you back to the Boone NC area!

Thank you
Stephanie O'Brien
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

My wife and I turned a day trip to the Blue Ridge Parkway into a two day trip after we got to Boone. We stayed in a King Suite on the 2nd floor which was on the back side of the property. (I'm guessing that the front side rooms would hear a lot of traffic noise from the 5 lane US 421 highway that can't be more than 25 feet from the hotel itself. This is no fault of theirs, the road was widened about 2 years ago and took most of the front of the hotel property!)

Our room was adequate for the night. There was nothing outstanding about it nor was there anything to complain about other than the noise of a toddler running back and forth in the room above us, again not something I can blame the hotel for.

Parking may be a challenge if you arrive late or return after a night out. This is also a result of the loss of the front of their property.

I would recommend this hotel for a short stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie O, General Manager at Country Inns & Suites Boone, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you so much for the feedback that you left for our Country Inn & Suites of Boone, NC. I sincerely hope that you were able to enjoy your ride along the Blue Ridge Parkway. It is truly a beautiful ride during this time of year. Maybe you can come back in the fall and see all of the beautiful colors as the leaves are changing. We hope to be able to serve you again when you are back in Boone NC.

Thank you
Stephanie O'Brien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inns & Suites Boone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inns & Suites Boone

Address: 818 E King Street, Boone, NC 28607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Boone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Boone
#2 Business Hotel in Boone
#5 Family Hotel in Boone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inns & Suites Boone 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High in the Blue Ridge Mountains of North Carolina is the Country Inn & Suites, Boone. Located in the North Carolina High Country, the area offers unsurpassed scenery, exciting activities and outdoor adventures for people of all ages. The Country Inn & Suites, Boone is located in the middle of it all. Come and enjoy all the area has to offer and let us pamper you with a little "Country Hospitality." We look forward to your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Carlson, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Country Inns & Suites Boone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inns And Suites Boone
Country Inns & Suites Boone Hotel Boone
Country Inn Boone
Boone Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inns & Suites Boone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.