We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to Country Inn standards” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inns & Suites Boone

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inns & Suites Boone to your Saves list
Country Inns & Suites Boone
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   818 E King Street, Boone, NC 28607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Boone
GreenLeadersBronze level
Halifax Nova Scotia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Not up to Country Inn standards”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2008

Maybe it's suffering from mid-vacation burnout, but this is not what I expect from Country Inns. Which is, dependable amenities and friendly, helpful staff.

We arrived at 6:30 pm and were given a room next to the elevator on the middle floor. When I requested a different room, the bored young man at the front desk said it was "my last room". Hmm. Wonder what he did for the people checking in behind us. There was no fridge, and we couldn't get the AC working. (Got a bad answer from Mr Bored, who sent up maintenance eventually.) But it's so noisy it kept me awake, sounded like a big truck idling. We wanted it on to mask the noise from our central location and the road, but that was overkill. The room was also musty at first, though the AC helped that. Tiny indoor pool with too strong chemical smell, so the kids were disappointed not to be allowed to use it. Amenities only average, no free movies anymore? (HBO's not the same, and no family-appropriate movies or channels after 7.) No popcorn in room. Breakfast--frozen Jimmy Dean sausage biscuits with a scary nutrition panel; I had stale raisin bran. No water in the exercise room. No lid on the toilet, what's up with that? Just felt like they were cutting corners everywhere.

You know, it's OK. Beds are clean, bathroom works, price ok. We often use Country Inns for the extra space and dependability, but this place will make us think twice before we book again.

  • Liked — having a room separate from the bedroom
  • Disliked — the front desk staff
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie O, General Manager at Country Inns & Suites Boone, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
We greatly appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. We will take your suggustions into consideration in order to make our guests' visits more pleasant. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience that you experienced during your stay. We hope that the next time you are in the area you will consider staying with us so we can change your mind.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    91
    37
    16
    6
See reviews for
116
63
16
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire, England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2008

We had an overnight stay in Boone on our way from Asheville to Raleigh.

Country Inn and Suites had 'for and against'. It is a small property and situated outside the town on a main road. Our room was very spacious with spotless bed linen, clean room and bathroom. Staff were friendly and very helpful. The breakfast room looked as if it had not been vacuumed after breakfast that day, also the stairs (we were on the first floor) also needed vacuuming, although everywhere else was clean. I felt this needed to be pointed out because 'it let the hotel down'.

The breakfast was a basic continental breakfast but there was a good selection.

It has a balcony which overlooks the road and the mountains and it is lovely of an evening, or for breakfast to sit outside and watch the world go by. We sat out in the evening in the rocking chairs reading our books, it was a great atmosphere.

Across the main road there is a free bus that takes you downtown, to the university or other places in the area, it is great mixing with the locals, lots of people spoke to us as this is not a popular English tourist town.

We ate at a great cafe which was visited by the university students in the town. Downtown was full of southern charm and consisted of one main street.

As this was only an overnight stay we didn't go anywhere in the evening so I don't know what entertainment there is in the evening.

Overall loved the town of Boone and surrounding areas but not sure if we would stay at the Country Inn and Suites again.

  • Liked — Friendly and helpful staff
  • Disliked — distance from main town
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie O, General Manager at Country Inns & Suites Boone, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. Your feedback gives us ideas on how to improve our hotel for other guests. We hope that you will come and stay with us again. We would love to see you the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WALNUT GROVE, GA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2008

Pros: Very clean rooms & lobby. Staff is extremely nice. Continental breakfast is more than your typical continental breakfast. Heated indoor pool & jacuzzi. Very reasonable rates.

Cons: stay on the upper floor because you can hear everything upstairs (ie kids stomping). Room are not very sound proof. If you want to sleep in, you can hear everyone in the hallway. 45 mins from Sugar & Beech Mountain.

I would stay there again because I think it is worth the extra drive for skiing. My daughter loved having her own bed & TV. My wife & I had privacy in our own room & the maid service was wonderful.

  • Liked — Clean & maintained well
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie O, General Manager at Country Inns & Suites Boone, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
We greatly appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope the next time you come to Boone you will stay with us again. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2008

Overall, the hotel was wonderful. Unfotunately, we got booked into Room 324. Avoid this room!!! It backs up to the elevator and vending machines. All night we heard the ice machine cycling and the elevator. We ended up having to turn the heater on to drown out the noise, but that was loud too. We moved rooms after that and slept very peacefully. Overall, I'd still go back there, but would be sure to request a room away from the vending machines/elevator.

  • Liked — Whirlpool tub
  • Disliked — Original room backing up to noisy machines
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie O, General Manager at Country Inns & Suites Boone, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the itme to review our hotel. We appreciate your feedback. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay. We hope that you will come back and give you an even better experience. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2007

This hotel is a newer property in Boone. It is close to Appalachian State University. I was there on business so I booked it for that reason. I enjoyed my stay here.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie O, General Manager at Country Inns & Suites Boone, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
We greatly appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. WE hope to see you again the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2007

I have spent quite a bit of time in Boone and wanted to try this new hotel (having loved their other property the Best Western Blue Ridge Plaza). The staff was friendly, and did a good job keeping up with the rush of customers who arrived just before I did. I was in a king room and couldn't reach the edge the bed in any direction, it was wonderful. Everything was clean and in order... overall a wonderful experience! Thanks guys

  • Liked — The friendly staff
  • Disliked — that I made it to breakfast a bit late in the morning so a few things were empty
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie O, General Manager at Country Inns & Suites Boone, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
We greatly appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2007

You basically get what you paid for. Very, very average. Room was small, even though we booked a suite since we had two small children. We got a room facing the parking lot, I think we might have liked it if we had a view facing the mountains, so you might want to mention that during booking your room. There was a coffee maker in the room, but no coffee or cups or anything. Though there is 24 hrs coffee in the dining room, so it did not really matter. The mattress on the sofa bed was super thin, and I think anyone other than young children will experience quite an uncomfortable night. Nothing worth mentioning about the room itself.
Front desk on the other hand was exceptional. They were very polite, check in was very fast, when we called later asking about a front facing room, they offered us other rooms, but we stayed with ours since it was the only one available with a door separating the main bedroom with the living room. We preponed our stay and they let us check out early with a $15 late check out fee which was very ok. Everyone was polite, friendly and efficient. We called at 10:30p and asked if it was too late to ask for extra blankets and shampoo and someone was at our door in 10 mins.
Same with the restaurant from where we got delivery. It was an Italian delivery listed on the hotel binder in every room ( cant remember the name). They delivered the food on time, but forgot the drinks. The delivery guy went to the nearest store to get us our drinks. At the same time, the main guy at the restaurant brought us another set as well. We were very impressed.
Walls very super, super, super thin. I dont think I have stayed at any other hotel with such thin walls. We could hear everything, and let me stress on the "everything". If you are a light sleeper, and you are going during a busy time of the year, would recommend not staying here or take ear plugs.
But, again, would like to stress, the staff is excellent !!!

  • Liked — Great customer service, wonderful front desk staff
  • Disliked — Thin walls, sound carries from everyway, above you, beside you...everywhere!!!
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie O, General Manager at Country Inns & Suites Boone, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to reiew our hotel. Your feedback gives us a chance to provide our customers with a batter experience. We sincerely apolgize for ay inconvenience you experienced during your stay. We hope that you will come back and stay with us and allow us to hopefully change your mind. The staff appreciates your very kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inns & Suites Boone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inns & Suites Boone

Address: 818 E King Street, Boone, NC 28607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Boone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Boone
#2 Business Hotel in Boone
#5 Family Hotel in Boone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inns & Suites Boone 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High in the Blue Ridge Mountains of North Carolina is the Country Inn & Suites, Boone. Located in the North Carolina High Country, the area offers unsurpassed scenery, exciting activities and outdoor adventures for people of all ages. The Country Inn & Suites, Boone is located in the middle of it all. Come and enjoy all the area has to offer and let us pamper you with a little "Country Hospitality." We look forward to your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Carlson, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Country Inns & Suites Boone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inns And Suites Boone
Country Inns & Suites Boone Hotel Boone
Country Inn Boone
Boone Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inns & Suites Boone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.