We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall it was enjoyable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inns & Suites Boone

Save Saved
You added Country Inns & Suites Boone to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inns & Suites Boone
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   818 E King Street, Boone, NC 28607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #6 of 19 hotels in Boone
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Overall it was enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed the weekend of July 19-22 for my daughter's birthday. We've been to Boone twice before, but never stayed in this hotel. I prefer the Carlson hotels, especially as a member, so I try to book a Carlson hotel as often as possible. This hotel was in a decent location - close enough to things to do and places to eat around town, but not in the thick of the city.

As was mentioned by others, the decor is a bit drab. I'm ok with that as it honestly could've been far worse. It did bother me that the pool was open due to a broken dehumidifier, but when I asked the lady working the desk about the pool (which, by the way, all front desk personnel were very attentive, friendly, and accommodating), she responded that they had worked out a deal with the La Quinta and Sleep Inn to use their pools. I thought this was fantastic as one of the draws to this hotel was the indoor pool. Big thumbs up for the contingency plan!

I didn't have the breakfast as I am not one to eat breakfast, however, as relayed to me by my wife, daughter, and her friend, it was not impressive. Hot items were either not hot, rubbery, or not very good. Waffles were waffles - hard to screw them up with pre-mixed bags and heat. We opted for breakfast elsewhere the other 2 mornings of our stay.

The rooms themselves were decent size, especially the bathrooms. With 3 females in tow, it's always nice to have space! Another reason I love to stay at Country Inn and Suites is because their bathrooms are on the larger side and come with fans. The only bad things I will say about our room is that the beds were a little uncomfortable and the toilet was not level (felt like I was leaning to the right a little - thankfully I wasn't drunk at all during my stay!).

Overall, this is a good hotel and our stay was enjoyable. For us it was good value because we took advantage of the 35% discount, otherwise I would say it's a fair value, but certainly better value than most in and around Boone and the 2 other hotels we stayed in previous trips. If you can overlook the interior, and if they can up their breakfast a notch, I would say that this could be a very good hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms opposite the road are quiet, however, they do not offer much of a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie O, General Manager at Country Inns & Suites Boone, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at the Country Inn & Suites. I am so sorry that our pool was closed for renovation during your visit with us. We hope to see you again in the future when you are back in Boone NC.

Thank you
Stephanie O'Brien, CHO
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    64
    27
    11
    4
See reviews for
70
45
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed five nights here while I attended a workshop at Cheap Joes. Pros: Our suite room was very comfortable and very clean. The hotel staff was always pleasant and responded instantly to any requests -- extra pillows, a functioning hairdryer. Cons: Breakfast in the morning was not very good. The hot dishes were either rubbery eggs or disgusting gravy/sausage mess, aside from the usual waffle maker and oatmeal. By mid-week, the kitchen was running out of food -- no yogurt, no breads for toasting except for a few bagel that would have make excellent hockey pucks, and no fresh fruit. The view from our window was the steep roof of the covered drive-thru. We could see nothing! There was a prominently displayed sign in the lobby stating that this chain would soon be updating its logo. Personally, I think the money could be better spent updating the rather drab decor and improving breakfast options.

Room Tip: Avoid room 325, window completely blocked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie O, General Manager at Country Inns & Suites Boone, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at the Country Inn & Suites. I hope that you were able to enjoy the workshops that you were attending at Cheap Joes. Thank you for letting us know your opinion on the breakfast foods. We have since switched brands of eggs that we are ordering in order to try to improve the flavor and texture. We hope to see you again in the future when you are back in Boone NC.

Thank you
Stephanie O'Brien, CHO
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

The staff here was great. Always friendly and wishing us a good day.
I stayed here with my father for a father/son trip and we had a great stay. There was plenty of room and the beds were comfortable.
The location is perfect. Close to downtown Boone and also next to route 105 for easy access to Blowing Rock, etc.
I actually stayed here years ago and forgot...buy was pleasantly surprised when I pulled up and recognized the hotel.
Definitely recommend and will stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie O, General Manager at Country Inns & Suites Boone, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at the Country Inn & Suites during your Father and son trip. I would also like to thank you for the kind words that you had to say about our staff. We strive to make all of our guests feel as though they are at home. We hope to see you again in the future when you are back in Boone NC.

Thank you
Stephanie O'Brien, CHO
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apopka, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Woman at check in was very helpful. My husband had been sick and we needed to stop. She brought him some hot tea while I was checking him in. She also put us in a room close to the elevator so he wouldn't have to walk far. Really appreciated how helpful she was!! Bed was very comfortable. Main room and bathroom were really big compared to most of the hotels we stayed at on this trip. Very happy with our stay and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie O, Manager at Country Inns & Suites Boone, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at our hotel. I'm sorry to hear your husband was sick during your stay. I hope he is feeling better. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope you can stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johns Creek, Georgia
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed at the country inn and suites over night during a 10 day road trip from Georgia to New York. Our experience was wonderful. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The lady at the front desk (Tiffany) was super helpful. She printed directions for us to get to "The Horn in the West" show. I highly recommend the show! Tiffany also helped us with several other amenities that we desired. We would definitely stay at this hotel again. The location was about 1 mile from the show and across the street from a grocery store and several other conveniences.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse C, Front Office Manager at Country Inns & Suites Boone, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
We are really excited that you had such a great lodging experience with us! Thank You for taking the time to critique our hotel and we will definitely let our staff member know about the excellent feedback she has received.
Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights. The hotel has good interiors. Rooms are spacious and well furnished. Rooms and bathrooms are clean however I found hair in one of the bathroom towels. Hence I have given cleanliness 3 points. Complimentary breakfast was good and there were a lot of options and variety. You can choose to have it outside while enjoying beautiful view or can have it inside breakfast hall. Coffee/ tea was available at all times. Wifi is included in the price and has good speed. We would like to stay here again if we revisit Boone.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing road which has good mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse C, Front Office Manager at Country Inns & Suites Boone, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank You taking the time to let us know how your lodging experience was at our hotel. We have read your response and have taken everything into account so we can continue to provide our guests with an experience that exceeds their expectations. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Archdale, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Originally, we were supposed to stay at the Best Western Plus next door. Well, we arrived on the morning of June 9th to see our hotel barricaded off by cones and police tape due to deaths from carbon monoxide in one of the rooms. We were able to good transferred over to Country Inn and Suites in a relatively timely manner, and were able to keep our rate from the Best Western Plus next door! We walked in to our 3rd story room to find awesome mountain views AND a heart-shaped whirlpool! The girl at the front was very kind and helpful to us in getting us a room. Our room was clean, quiet, and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast each morning was essentially your standard hotel breakfast, but we'd say it was just a little better than average, with scrambled eggs, ham, sausage, granola, yogurt, etc. The hotel is attractive inside and out. Especially considering we got this hotel for the same price as the one we originally paid for, it is a much nicer hotel. The location is central to the Parkway, shopping, gas, and downtown. We're really pleased and hope to be back one day!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse C, Front Office Manager at Country Inns & Suites Boone, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you so much for letting us know how your lodging experience was at our hotel. It's nice to know that we were able to ease this transition during this difficult time. We want nothing more than to be able to accommodate all of our guests wants and needs. We sincerely hope that you consider us again and on behalf of all our staff...Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inns & Suites Boone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inns & Suites Boone

Address: 818 E King Street, Boone, NC 28607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Boone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Boone
#7 Family Hotel in Boone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inns & Suites Boone 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High in the Blue Ridge Mountains of North Carolina is the Country Inn & Suites, Boone. Located in the North Carolina High Country, the area offers unsurpassed scenery, exciting activities and outdoor adventures for people of all ages. The Country Inn & Suites, Boone is located in the middle of it all. Come and enjoy all the area has to offer and let us pamper you with a little "Country Hospitality." We look forward to your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Country Inns & Suites Boone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inns And Suites Boone
Country Inns & Suites Boone Hotel Boone
Country Inn Boone
Boone Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inns & Suites Boone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.