We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inns & Suites Boone

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inns & Suites Boone to your Saves list
Country Inns & Suites Boone
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   818 E King Street, Boone, NC 28607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Boone
GreenLeadersBronze level
Archdale, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unexpected stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Originally, we were supposed to stay at the Best Western Plus next door. Well, we arrived on the morning of June 9th to see our hotel barricaded off by cones and police tape due to deaths from carbon monoxide in one of the rooms. We were able to good transferred over to Country Inn and Suites in a relatively timely manner, and were able to keep our rate from the Best Western Plus next door! We walked in to our 3rd story room to find awesome mountain views AND a heart-shaped whirlpool! The girl at the front was very kind and helpful to us in getting us a room. Our room was clean, quiet, and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast each morning was essentially your standard hotel breakfast, but we'd say it was just a little better than average, with scrambled eggs, ham, sausage, granola, yogurt, etc. The hotel is attractive inside and out. Especially considering we got this hotel for the same price as the one we originally paid for, it is a much nicer hotel. The location is central to the Parkway, shopping, gas, and downtown. We're really pleased and hope to be back one day!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse C, Front Office Manager at Country Inns & Suites Boone, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you so much for letting us know how your lodging experience was at our hotel. It's nice to know that we were able to ease this transition during this difficult time. We want nothing more than to be able to accommodate all of our guests wants and needs. We sincerely hope that you consider us again and on behalf of all our staff...Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    82
    30
    15
    5
See reviews for
94
59
14
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

A good stay but would recommend waiting till renovations are completed. The pool bottom was breaking up and the pool area needed some updating. The rooms were very large, but needed also to be updated. At least they were very clean. The staff was very nice. Breakfast was better than at lot of other places. There were hot options that were different every day. The breakfast area needed to be larger, it filled up really fast. Good location, movie theater and good mexican place across the street. You've got to drive to downtown, though. That is where all the good restaurants are. Overall, it was good.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quitter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse C, Front Office Manager at Country Inns & Suites Boone, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
We would like to personally thank You for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We currently are undergoing comprehensive renovations at our property and we apologize for the inconvenience this has caused. We appreciate all your feedback and earnestly hope that when you stay in Boone again you consider choosing us!
Thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plesant Prairie, WI
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

All hotels in Boone are overpriced. What's worse is the quality of the accomodations. Simply stated, my room stank of old cigarette and cigar smoke. There was an area of mold in the bathroom shower. The shower walls were not clean. The wifi wasn't working. When I brought that to the attention of the front desk no action was taken to fix it. Boone is a college town. I'm sure they could find someone who knows what to do. In this case, the hotel's management is the problem. They simply don't care. If they did, these problems would not exist.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse C, Front Office Manager at Country Inns & Suites Boone, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
We sincerely apologize for the experience you received at our hotel. The satisfaction of our guests is of our utmost concern. We have expressed your critique of our property and staff to our department heads and we are working diligently to resolve these issues. Thank You for taking the time to rate our property and we hope that your next lodging experience in Boone is a pleasant one.
Thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

First time staying at a Country Inn & Suites and will be my last. The Hampton Inn is so much better which is where we usually stay. The room internet was not working and apparently was out for a while. Also, the a/c in the hotel was not working properly and the pool (which was a big joke) area was like being in a sauna! The pool looked murky and a was very uninviting. The breakfast was decent. TV service was sporadic for some reason. Picture kept going off and on.
Overall, would would not recommend unless you couldn't get a room in another hotel in the area.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the top floor and NOT facing the highway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse C, Front Office Manager at Country Inns & Suites Boone, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
We sincerely apologize for the experience you received at our hotel. We appreciate your honest opinion of our hotel and we have discussed the concerns you have with our property. All of the staff here are working diligently to remedy these issues and we hope that you earnestly experience a better lodging experience the next time you visit Boone Nc.
Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny Flordia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

The place is not bad but has an order. The biggest thing that is not ok with this place is they promise in room internet and when I got there it was not working and had not been for some time according to the desk person. Of course I did not find this out until I struggled in my room for an hour trying to get it to work. Then when I went to the desk I am told sorry just use the lobby. I complained and was given a brush off answer by Jesse Cagle the front desk manager. He assured me his "team" was working on the problem yet it has been at least a week and a half since I was there. Watch out for this place if you need to use in room internet.

Room Tip: The spa tub rooms are affordable and worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse C, Front Office Manager at Country Inns & Suites Boone, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
On behalf of staff here at the Country Inn and Suites here in Boone, I would like to personally apologize again for the inconvenience this has caused. Unfortunately the internet disconnection was completely out of our control at the time but nevertheless we appreciate your valuble feedback,
Thanks again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed 3 nights here during a huge music festival in nearby town since our son is a student at App State. Have stayed here before and were very pleased so booked it again. This time quality of room and overall experience very disappointing. Among the letdowns were poor TV picture (extremely "snowy" on low channels) and eggs at breakfast wattery with powder-like residue. 2nd morning (Saturday) breakfast was very crowded and most choices were depleted when we arrived. Bath towels small and thin. Noticably different from our last experience in many ways. One or two differences would've gone unnoticed, but there were so many, it was quite noticable. Likely won't stay here again.

Room Tip: If you expect a two-room suite (with door between living and bedroom areas) ask for it specifically...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse C, Front Office Manager at Country Inns & Suites Boone, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
We sincerely apologize for the experience you received at our property. Your unpleasant experience will be voiced to our team to insure that this will not occur again in the future. Thank You for taking to the time to rate our property, we value any and all feedback.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this location when it first opened years ago. The pool was not even finished yet, not that it mattered to us. The point I want to make is at that time this hotel was new, clean and fresh. We stayed there again this past weekend and things have changed and not for the better. Little things but the little things indicate problems exist. The curtain over the window was hanging loose at one end and the curtain would not close probably. The luggage carts were too big and you had to fight to get them in the elevator. The pool seemed very "cloudy" and dirty. The clock own the wall at the pool did not work. Like I said, no big thing but the little unattended details indicate to me that the quality that was once there is not there today. I am in management and my boss told me that as a person in a management position sees something wrong and walks by it, without taking steps to have the problem fixed, just approved the problem. This hotel seems to have a walk around and not fix attitude.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse C, Front Office Manager at Country Inns & Suites Boone, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
We sincerely apologize for the experience you had at our hotel. We've listened intentely and will do everything we can to ensure that an experience such as yours doesn't occur in the future.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inns & Suites Boone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inns & Suites Boone

Address: 818 E King Street, Boone, NC 28607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Boone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Boone
#4 Business Hotel in Boone
#5 Family Hotel in Boone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inns & Suites Boone 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High in the Blue Ridge Mountains of North Carolina is the Country Inn & Suites, Boone. Located in the North Carolina High Country, the area offers unsurpassed scenery, exciting activities and outdoor adventures for people of all ages. The Country Inn & Suites, Boone is located in the middle of it all. Come and enjoy all the area has to offer and let us pamper you with a little "Country Hospitality." We look forward to your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Carlson, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inns & Suites Boone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inns And Suites Boone
Country Inns & Suites Boone Hotel Boone
Country Inn Boone
Boone Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inns & Suites Boone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.