We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boone KOA Campground

Boone KOA Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boone
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Boone KOA Campground
Save
You added Boone KOA Campground to your Saves list
Ray Brown Rd. (Hwy 194), Boone, NC   |  
Hotel amenities
Prospect Hill, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Another great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2009

Spent a few days in a kamiping kabin and as usual we had a great time. The staff is awesome there. It is safe and clean. Enjoyed it very much. We stay every year when we go to tweetsie. Will continue to do so.

Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    8
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
17
5
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southern Pines, N.C.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2008

This campground is definitely one of the cleanest my wife and I have stayed in. We occupied one of the cabins. Our smoke detector had a weak battery when we arrived. I reported it and the battery was replaced almost before I got back to the cabin. The management/employees were friendly and never lost their smiles. The entertainment was a blue grass band that had a wonderful show with loads of laughs. The location is in the country but only 10 minutes from downtown Boone. I plan on going back next year during the PAY FOR ONE/GET ONE NIGHT FREE to benefit CANCER RESEARCH.

  • Liked — Out door living theme
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern NC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2008

We loved our stay at this KOA! We are generally tent campers and avoid KOAs like the plague because they are so organized and filled to the brim with RVs. Had a conference in Boone for a week though, and needed some of the necessities like showers for this stay! This is so convenient to Boone - just a 5 minute drive up the mountain, and you're away from the hustle and bustle but near enough if you need to make a grocery run.

We booked the basic Kabin for 5 days - 1 room cute cabin with electricity, double bed and a set of bunkbeds. Not much tabletop space, and the mattress isn't a pillowtop, but overall very comfy cabin and incredibly clean. A set of bathrooms was very nearby, although the door kept accidently locking, and locked everyone out at least one nite - but the main bathrooms are just a 2 minute walk up the hill! The showers were clean and adequate. 3 cabins have front porch swings, so request one of those! Out of the 7 cabins on that row, we were the only ones there that week, so that made it much quieter than it would've been.

Putt putt course was $1 and fun! Pool was refreshing on our last day. Tent campsites were nice - especially the ones that come with a sheltered picnic table! There are the standard rows and rows of RVs, but very quiet for a KOA. Big game room. Goats on site were fun to interact with and feed. They sell goat food in the office. Playground equipment good for the kids. Staff incredbly helpful. We forgot our fishing rods at the cabin, and they tracked us down to make sure we got them before we left town. I would stay here again, even if tent camping, and even though we generally are not KOA campers!

  • Liked — Staff, Location, Activities, Animals, Camping
  • Disliked — Couldn't stay longer!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2005

AUG-5-7 We visited Boone KOA Campground For First Time.The Property Was downhill and we were at the bottom.So at night there were no lights of any kind to see how to get to bathrooms or showerhouse,So if you were elderly,or didn't have a flashlight you were in trouble.They need lights in the worst kind of way.People around us were also complaining.Some were paid up but left early,and we all said we would not be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2004

This is a really nice campground. The staff are very accommodating, the facilities (bathroom/showers) are clean, well-furnished, and have plenty of hot water, and the "kabins" are nice. My only gripe might be that some of the tent sites aren't completely level, but that's about it, and nothing too terrible. I'm in a group that meets here every year, and we will continue to do so, in part, due to the KOA staff and their facility.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Boone KOA Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boone KOA Campground

Address: Ray Brown Rd. (Hwy 194), Boone, NC
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Boone
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Boone
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Boone Koa Campground Hotel Boone

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boone KOA Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.