We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will Not Stay Here Again” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Boone

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Boone to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites Boone
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2060 Blowing Rock Road, Boone, NC 28607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Boone
Central Nc
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Will Not Stay Here Again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We got almost no rest due to rowdy children on our floor from 10:00pm to 12:30pm. Apparently we were not the only people to complain to the front desk (they said they had already had several calls when we called) but it did no good to solve the issue. We were placed directly over the front entrance so we heard the slider door open and close all night. The walls are apparently not very sound proof, we heard most of the TV and conversations in rooms next to us. Our thermostat was not working properly, the whirlpool tub was not user friendly and couldn't get hot water. Several of the lights were not working in our room and the microwave wouldn't work. The breakfast items were almost empty at 9:40 (served from 7-10) and not refilled so almost no choices for us. Just not a good experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    83
    36
    10
    6
See reviews for
69
53
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This hotel was a great option for our family as we were visiting Boone to purchase our Christmas tree and they had a Christmas Tree package available for a voucher at a local tree farm. The hotel itself was nice when we checked in however that night it all went wrong. The hallway that our room was on smelled of marijuana and our shower was so clogged that we were standing in water the entire time showering. I'm sure that this doesn't happen all of the time but this was my first time staying at a Marriott hotel and I was very disappointed. I hope that this provides necessary feedback that may be needed for improvement.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tennessee
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Rooms and bedding were clean and smelled nice. The gentleman cleaning rooms on our floor was friendly and always greated us whenever we would pass by. Coffee was always available (even decaf) at the elevators and it was hot. Elevators are a little slow though. Front desk staff was attentive and quick with check in. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed here over the weekend for just a weekend trip to the mountains. The hotel was fine for the weekend. The staff was extremely friendly!

The room & bathroom were spotlessly clean. The breakfast choices were excellent. They had your typical pastries, but also had waffles, biscuits, cereal, hard-boiled eggs and several juices to choose from.

Of course, the location is perfect. You can walk to several different restaurants, but is still very close to many others since the hotel is located on the main road.

The only complaint (not really even a complaint, just annoyed my husband), was that our room had the old tube-style TV, but my parents' room right next door to ours had a nice, new flat-screen TV. My hubby is a TV fanatic (always buys the next best thing), so he expects a flat-screen everywhere we go now, especially if we stay in more modern places.

Overall, the hotel was great and we will stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed two nights during the Hurricane Sandy blizzard. As usual for a Marriott chain hotel, checkin was flawless, excellent clean comfortable room, great amenities, great bed, pillows etc. Friendly helpful staff, recommended good BBQ restaurant. Wonderful surprise for us, guest laundry room in the hotel. Very fine breakfast including make your own waffles and hot breakfast sandwiches along with the rest of the usual items. Good coffee. Note, our room did not a refrigerator. One thing we would have appreciated is better information on who to contact for road conditions. The hotel could be more proactive in obtaining and posting road and weather reports.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We were at the hotel for two nights and both were excellent (October 12 and 13). Upon checking into the hotel upon arrival, we were greeting by two very nice young men. They were friendly and helpful when we asked them for a quiet room, for dinner recommendations that first night and an automotive brake mechanic to replace ours (too much mountain driving, I guess). They didn't steer us wrong on any of these requests. Also, I went down to the desk to ask for another luggage rack and was provided one without delay. Our king, nonsmoking room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was okay -- the typical complimentary food.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We've stayed at over 80 Marriott properties and while not every visit is perfect, we've never been compelled to give a Marriott property less than 3 stars, until this stay.

While the room was clean and fresh smelling, we realized throughout the night that the room was on the cold side. When I woke up in the morning, I realized that there was no heat. Upon further inspection, it was obvious that the heater malfunctioning. Regardless of where the knob was turned, it only blew out cold air.

That in itself would not have generated a negative rating. It was the attitude and the indifference of the front staff that shocked and surprised us. When notified, the front staff clerk's response in was "OK, I'll make a note of it" and walked away. It wasn't even the lack of an apology that rubbed us the wrong way, it was the indifference that portrayed a lack of caring. At least the housekeeper apologized and stated that they would look into it promptly.

Perhaps the staff member was just having a bad day (as the night clerk the night before was engaging and friendly), but it certainly left us with a bad impression of the property.

Breakfast was well stocked with standard Fairfield Inn fare. What I did like about the breakfast is that they have sausage croissants as well as bacon biscuits. The seating area is large and spacious with plenty of seating. The hotel is in a good location, with lots of surrounding restaurants that are within walking distance. There is a small (very small) indoor pool that we didn't use.

We're hoping that our experience was the exception rather than the rule, as we like the location, but for now, we are hesitant to return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Boone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Boone

Address: 2060 Blowing Rock Road, Boone, NC 28607
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Boone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Boone
#8 Family Hotel in Boone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Boone 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Marriott and Hotels.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Boone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Boone Hotel Boone
Fairfield Inn And Suites Boone
Fairfield Inn Hotel Boone
Fairfield Inn Boone
Fairfield Boone
Boone Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Boone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.