We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Come Back Shack

Come Back Shack
1521 Blowing Rock Road, Boone, NC 28607
828-264-2797
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 127 Restaurants in Boone
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $12
Cuisines: Hot Dogs, Hamburgers, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Come Back Shack is all about fresh, delicious hand-made food at an amazing value. We hand-patty fresh, never-frozen, USDA ground chuck.Our chicken sandwiches are all-natural, and our chicken tenderloins are fresh, never-frozen, hand-breaded, and all-natural. We hand-cut fresh potatoes for our fries and fresh sweet potatoes for our sweet potato chips. We make our sauces from scratch daily. Our milk shakes are made with premium real ice-cream and hand spun in a dozen flavors.We go to the extra effort to serve the best, tastiest, freshest food to our guests because we know you care about what you eat. Its the kind of food we love, and we enjoy fixing for others. We look forward to seeing you at Come Back Shack!
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“WOW!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Upon checking into our motel for the weekend, I asked for a recommendation a local favorite eating place. With no hesitation, we were told to visit the Come Back Shack. The name should say it all, because we will diffidently "Come Back" as the name implies. The selection wasn't the typical fast food type, although we did indeed receive our food fast. Firstly, you select your burger/chicken type, bun type (or lettuce wrap), and ingredients. Upon putting your order in, within minutes, it's brought to either table inside, or out on the patio. This is without question a local favorite. Had it not been for the fact that my wife wanted to try different establishments during our brief visit, I would have been happy to eat all of our meals at the Come Back Shack. As it stands, since we are less than two hours away from the area, a day trip may be in store so I can "Come Back" to the Come Back Shack again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    79
    13
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A no-carb day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Next time you visit, try a burger wrapped in lettuce. The combination of the chilly lettuce with a hot burger is not only intriguing, but a culinary delight. I enjoyed the turkey burger come back style with lettuce, and my husband enjoyed his beef burger with the lettuce as an accompaniment. Come back shack, you guys are GREAT!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, N C
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best local hamburger joint”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

A local alternative for a lunch time break. Food is top quality, fast and reasonable. Building is a bit funky but fun!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“"Have it your way" done right”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

This is truly the burger place that allows you to have a burger the way you like it - from the type of meat (or vegetarian patty) & covering (bun type or a lettuce wrap) to the condiments, fries and sides. The choices fill both sides of 8.5x14 sheet. I especially recommend the fried green tomato & pimento cheese burger. Sounds weird but they taste great. The inside dining space is small but during the warm months this expands to outside dining areas. Of course you can use the drive-thru anytime. The "shack" décor and closeness of the dining area creates a warm atmosphere reminiscent of a mid 20th century dining room for a large rural family. The service is fast and courteous. I highly recommend CBS for great burgers.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food. Reasonable Prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

The burgers and salads were super. Milkshakes also. Local place for the college kids but our family really enjoyed it. Large portions and little money made it a definite Come Back for us.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Come Back Shack also viewed

Boone, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Boone, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Come Back Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Come Back Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.