We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Depends on which room you get...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Carpet Inn Boone

Red Carpet Inn Boone
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Red Carpet Inn Boone to your Saves list
Red Carpet Inn Boone
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   862 Blowing Rock Road, Boone, NC 28607   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Boone
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Depends on which room you get...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend stayed here while on vacation in Boone. Location is great but that doesn't change the fact that this place is dirty. Our room was decent. Microwave didn't work and the room smelled very musty. However, I would say our room was cleaner than the others (room 110). Shower was clean and TV came in good. Water pressure is poor. Overall the Red Carpet Inn is exactly what you pay for...cheap

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    9
    4
    16
See reviews for
6
12
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwood, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

10 - 26 - 13 On the yuck factor 1 - 10...... this is a 15..!!!!!!!!!

Read all the reviews before staying here.

This is the nastiest dilapidated room I have ever stayed in. The room had a musty old dirty cigarette smell. We had to go to K-Mart to buy air freshener and a portable heater. Carpet was not red but filthy grey stained and burnt with cigarette holes, sheets and blanket also burnt with cigarette holes. For a non-smoking room.
There were roach or ant traps behind the head of the bed along with a dirty sock.
It was freezing in the room and no knobs on the a/c - heater unit. With the pliers from my car when turned on was NO heat just cool musty air. This place need to be updated.
The door had a flimsy lock and handle. Which you could see light through. Had to use a chair to secure the knob before turning in. The scariest thing is the drug deals and drunk people standing and walking back and forth outside our door. Falling into the door in the drunk. People banging on the door and windows, yelling and cursing. After 2 calls to the front desk to complain with no satisfaction and getting worse after my first call. My Third call was to the police ( who had had many complaints in the past) only with the threat of everyone going to jail, and two drug arrests did it quiet down.

Room Tip: There are not any find some where else to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

the red carpet inn was dirty the room... the door knob was very loose... the toilet seat was broken, the water pressure was the worst anywhere around... called the desk the maintenance said this was normal because boone, n.c wants to save on it's water use. you need supply and volume before it can used ..never got hot enough to take shower.. faucets barely came out.... good luck to all....I hope they fix these problems soon...this is a nice area,,, the lady inside was very nice... miss nicole

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed over here whilst driving up the Blue Ridge Parkway. We got a jacuzzi room and it was awesome. The bed was comfortable, the hot tub was great, and they had VCRs in the room and a selection of videos at reception. It was fairly retro but I liked it. The room was quiet, the staff were all right, and the room size was good. It was a little pricey for what it was, but I would stay there again. Easily accessible, clean.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The sign said "pets welcome" and we didn't read the reviews before getting a room. Our room was spotless and included a fridge with microwave, coffee maker and coffee. We looked for bebuds before we settled in and didn't see anything. There was sort of a damp smell in the room when we walked in, but it wasn't too bad. We have a big dog so that's kind of normal. We asked for more pillows and they were furnished without a problem. There were, however, a few shady people around. Lots of college students and some migrant workers but we're down because we're not racist like that. The shower did not drain well but this did not interfere with our ability to get a good shower--the water pressure was good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Obviously you can tell this is an older motel. If you look online you can tell that and definitely when you arrive you can see it. So I was not expecting much and preparing for the worst. Visited on a ASU football weekend in Oct 2012. Got a decent rate compared to the other hotels in the area. I was sick of paying extremely high rates when we were not even going to be in the room for a long period of time.

Reserved a 2 bedroom suite type room. It had two double beds in the main room. It was separated by a bathroom. Bathroom was a decent size. There was a separate sink outside of the bathroom and one inside the bathroom. Plus one in the kitchen area, so three total. Then there was another bedroom you could close off with a double bed in it. So three beds total. The kitchen area was in the 2nd bedroom. It had a medium size refridgerator with ice trays, a stove with four burners and a microwave. Did not use the stove but did use the microwave. There was only one frying pan in the kitchen and no other cooking supplies what so ever. They did have a nice ice machine to use on the 2nd floor.

It is true to beds are wrapped in plastic and they make noise every time you move! Towels were poor quality and rough. Sheets had holes and the bedding was not soft. The TV was old and still had a VCR to use. Front desk still has VHS tapes for you to watch! WTH?!

So it is what it is! Don't try and make this place more than it is!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I really want to give this hotel a great review because I was totally appreciative that they had a room for us. It was Saturday, October 6, and apparently homecoming weekend at appalachian state so EVERYTHING was booked. We got a room with 2 double beds and it was larger than most hotels of this nature, and our rate was $100 a night.
This red carpet in was built in the sixties and as such had cool (to me) retro tiles in the bathroom and vintage fixtures.
The most uncool thing about this room is that you absolutely can't sleep in it. Apparently because of the bed bug scare of 2010, or an actual overrun of bedbugs, they have strangled their mattresses and box springs in an extremely loud clear plastic, the kind I imagine playground sand is laid over or a landscaping fabric that prohibits weed growth. Its like sleeping on one of those blue tarps that people cover their lawnmowers with. I downloaded 4 different iphone apps or rain, oceans, and assorted other crap to try to mask he sounds and sleep, to no avail.
I'm generally not too picky about hotels, especially lower priced ones, as all i require is a bed and a shower. the plastic mattress thing is beyond ridiculous though.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Carpet Inn Boone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Carpet Inn Boone

Address: 862 Blowing Rock Road, Boone, NC 28607
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Boone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Boone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Carpet Inn Boone 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Red Carpet Inn Boone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Carpet Inn Boone Hotel Boone
Red Carpet Inn Boone Nc
Boone Red Carpet Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Carpet Inn Boone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.