We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Best Western Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn & Suites University

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn & Suites University to your Saves list
Quality Inn & Suites University
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   840 E King Street, Boone, NC 28607 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Blue Ridge Plaza)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Boone
GreenLeadersSilver level
Yorba Linda, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Best Western Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

On our recent trip to drive the Blue Ridge Parkway and visit the Great Smoky Mountains National Park, we stayed for one night at this Best Western Inn in the beautiful small town of Boone. The front desk clerk was very warm and make us feel welcome. We got a room that has a nice green hill view. The room is spacious and very clean, and the bed is very comfortable. The complimentary breakfast is ample and delicious. We are very happy with this hotel and will definitely stay here if we come back to visit the area again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha T, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites University, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such a wonderful review here on TripAdvisor. We love to hear from our guests and are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed everything about your stay. Again thank you and we hope to see you again soon.

Natasha Taylor
General Manager
Best Western Blue Ridge Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    139
    35
    23
    11
See reviews for
125
133
16
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Claryville, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

The room was wonderful. Comfy king size bed, a fireplace, a couch and table, lots of room. Clean pool. Reception area was very nice and cozy. Breakfast was very good. The entire hotel was very clean. The staff were personable and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha T, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites University, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review on your recent stay with us! We are all so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time here and we met your expectations on everything. We love to hear from our guests and we rely on your feedback to let us know how you are doing. So when we hear that everything was great, we know we are doing something right! Again thank you and we hope to see you again really soon!

Natasha Taylor
General Manager
Best Western Blue Ridge Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

My Husband and I stayed here on an anniversary trip to The High Country overall we found it to be an excellent home base for exploring the area.

PROS:
* The staff was pleasant during the entire stay.
* We found the room very clean, with a large flat screen television and an extremely comfortable bed.
* We were provided a very good mini fridge and a functional microwave. We feel like these are important and beneficial extras that we appreciate.
* The location was central to many attractions, while being set back from and above the main thoroughfare. This made for two very quiet and peaceful nights sleep.
* We feel like this was an excellent value for the cost.

CONS:
* The toilet made an unusual and jarring noise whenever flushed. It was loud and annoying but not cause enough for us to complain.
* Temperature control for the hot water in the sink and shower was sporadic, sometimes producing 30 seconds of extremely hot water and other times producing bursts of lukewarm water.
* While we don't expect a restaurant quality breakfast to be provided at a hotel, we found some of the items were sub-par even for a continental breakfast. We found the batter for the waffles separated and runny, the pancakes had an extremely raw taste, and the muffins were dense and flavorless.

We found the cons to be minor annoyances at worst, and they barely distracted from the beauty in the area and we will certainly recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha T, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites University, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us what you loved about our hotel as well as the few problems that you experienced while you were here. I have informed my maintenance team about the toilet and the temperature of the water in the sink and both of these problems will be taken care of immediately. As for our breakfast, we are continuing to work on a new menu that our guests will love. We rely on our guests feedback in order to figure out what these items so that we can make sure that each and every guest is happy with every aspect of their stay. Again thank you and we hope to see you again soon!

Natasha Taylor
General Manager
Best Western Blue Ridge Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

My wife, grandson and I recently stayed at this hotel. The rooms are nice, clean and very roomy. The hotel is well located near Appalachian State and is very attractive from the outside. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very good with waffles and pancakes in a clean and well appointed area with a TV. This is a great place to lay your head for a night or two in Boone.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha T, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites University, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your recent stay here with us. We are so pleased to hear that we met your expectations as we work really hard to make sure each and every guest enjoy their time here. Again thank you, and we hope to see you again soon.

Natasha Taylor
General Manager
Best Western Blue Ridge Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Our family of 5 stayed here for the night on the way through the Blue Ridge Parkway. Jessica at reception was very helpful and she also assisted us booking another Best Western hotel for the following night. The rooms are very tidy and clean and the bed and pillows gave me the best sleep I've had so far on our trip. The kids loved the heated pool. The breakfast was ok but have definitely had better. Overall I would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha T, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites University, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel about your recent stay here with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time here and that we met your expectations on everything. We are currently working on the breakfast bar menu and are trying to get more of a selection to give our guests a variety to choose from. We are trying new items out each week to see which are the most popular items and seem to make our guests happier with the selection. Again thank you and we hope to see you again soon!

Natasha Taylor
General Manager
Best Western Blue Ridge Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lapeer, Michigan
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

For the money this is about as good as it gets. Hotel is a little rough in spots. Our room has three tiny pillows the size of a bag of popcorn, the iron is missing but at least the bed is comfortable and the bathroom is huge. The windows don't seal worth a crap. Plenty of parking and access is a breeze with a traffic light off the main road. Worth a lot more than we paid. Will stay again.

Room Tip: Face away from the main room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha T, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites University, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give our hotel a review here on Trip Advisor. We truly appreciate your kind words and I have addressed the issues on the pillows and the windows with my staff and we are taking measures to get these problems taken care of. We are so glad that you still enjoyed your stay even with these few problems. Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon.

Natasha Taylor
General Manager
Best Western Blue Ridge Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

This hotel was clean, new, well-staffed, well-outfitted (fridge/micro in each room), with a nice indoor pool. The "continental" breakfast was quite extensive and filling. There was even a fireplace and board games in the spacious, pretty lobby! It was overall an excellent experience, and we can't believe we got it so cheaply! The only feedback I would give was there weren't enough blanket layers to turn down the temps and cuddle under blankets (but we had read this and brought our own extra blankets...).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha T, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites University, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time out of your busy schedule to give us such a great review on our hotel. We love to hear from our guests and letting us know about the blankets is exactly why we need to have your input. Best Western has a triple sheeting standard for our beds, so that is why there is only one blanket. We do have extra blankets available and there should have been a couple in the closet in the your room as well. Always just let one of our front desk team members know and we will always get you anything that you need! I am so pleased to hear that you had such an amazing experience here with us at the Best Western Blue Ridge Plaza and we sincerely hope to see you again soon!

Natasha Taylor
General Manager
Best Western Blue Ridge Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn & Suites University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites University

Address: 840 E King Street, Boone, NC 28607 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Blue Ridge Plaza)
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Boone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Boone
#1 Green Hotel in Boone
#3 Business Hotel in Boone
#6 Family Hotel in Boone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy beautiful mountain views and unsurpassed customer service while staying at this Boone, North Carolina hotel. Offering breathtaking views of North Carolina's Blue Ridge Mountains, the QUALITY INN & SUITES of Boone is pleased to offer sophisticated accommodations and convenient access to an array of activities and attractions. This Boone area hotel offers well-appointed guest rooms and suites, each equipped with cable satellite television and high-speed Internet access. Guests are welcome to start the day with a complimentary continental breakfast before taking a dip in the indoor heated swimming pool. Business guests staying at the QUALITY INN & SUITES of Boone will appreciate the full-service business center and meeting facilities accommodating up to 120 guests. The hotel also features guest laundry, free parking and a game room.The QUALITY INN & SUITES of Boone offers convenient access to a variety of outdoor activities including golfing, horseback riding, white water rafting, hiking on Grandfather Mountain and skiing at Sugar Mountain and Beech Mountain Ski Resorts. Less than ten miles from this destination hotel, guests can visit key area attractions such as the Daniel Boone Nature Garden, the Blue Ridge Parkway and Mystery Hill. Families especially will enjoy mining for gems, spending the day at Tweetsie Railroad Amusement Park or exploring the Linville Caverns. The hotel also offers convenient access to the Appalachian State University, only one mile away. The friendly, helpful staff at the QUALITY INN & SUITES of Boone are ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Boone, North Carolina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Blue Ridge Plaza Hotel Boone
Best Western Hotel Boone
Best Western Boone
Boone Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn & Suites University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.