We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better food than expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Retreat Family Billiards

Country Retreat Family Billiards
9021 highway 105 South, Boone, NC
828-963-6260
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #59 of 128 Restaurants in Boone
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
South Lyon, Michigan
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Better food than expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We checked into a hotel (Hidden Valley) a third of a mile down the street too tired to want a drive into Boone on a Thursday evening. So we walked to this "pool hall" to eat sandwiches at the counter.

Far better than we expected. Generous servings that were all good. Relaxed and comfortable atmosphere. No one was playing billiards. If we had more energy we might have taken a table and stayed until closing.

It's not really a restaurant so much as a good place to stop for simple food. Several locals came in for carryout while we were there. That says a lot.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    4
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Really good burgers and a fun atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

A family friendly billard hall. Good food, friendly people. We ate at the bar overlooking the pool tables and enjoyed the friendly games. Reasonably priced.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blowing Rock, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Our favorite "unusual" place for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

"Wanna go to the pool hall for lunch"? You bet. This is a very high end billiard place that happens to have food as good as their tables. No alcohol or smoking allowed in a pool hall?? Yep. They have a full time chef that offers incredible lunch specials that rival any gourmet meals in up scale establishments. Regular items include best burger and fries in the high country. Soups are special. The quality and value here are such that I often leave a 50% tip! Lunch specials such as home made soup served in 16oz. cups with choice of BLT, hot dog, corn dog, grilled cheese,etc. with drink for $5.75 is an incredible value. Gourmet daily specials for $7. 75 often rival dishes served at some of the High Country's best restaurants. But it's not the price, it's the quality of the product that impresses most. We drive over from Blowing Rock for this hidden treasure.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Too expensive for what it is”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Bad customer service, don't think the server smiled once. My food was too expensive for such small portions.
Food was good though.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valle Crucis, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best hamburgers in the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The food is great and the owner, Chris Aldridge is very friendly and welcoming. A very good place to play pool with no alcohol nor smoking allowed.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Country Retreat Family Billiards also viewed

Boone, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Boone, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Country Retreat Family Billiards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Retreat Family Billiards, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.