We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brrrrrrrr...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moses Cone Manor

Moses Cone Manor
Boone, NC
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 32 things to do in Boone
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Hiking, Walking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 3,600-acre estate, managed by the National Park Service, features the historic mansion that was owned and built by the antebellum aristocrat Moses Cone.
Salisbury, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Brrrrrrrr...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

The forecast was for more snow and ice but we drove to the Blue Ridge Parkway and the road was open to the Manor. This was not our first trip but this one doesn't get old. There are many trails and views even when the Manor itself is closed for the season. The hoar frost was long on the limbs, leaning away from the winds, and everything was covered with crystal. It was a windy day but the road up to Flat Top Fire Tower was clear enough to hike. It's the only fire tower remaining open to the public in North Carolina and the 5.6 mile round-trip walk is worth it. Tips; there are many trails for hikers and horseback riders, or you can just soak up the fabulous views down to Bass Lake and across the old orchards. Seasonally, the Manor opens with displays of North Carolina artisans and interesting history of the plantation that the Cone family gifted us. Just outside of Blowing Rock on the Blue Ridge Parkway, it's a short trip worth making.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    61
    25
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem on the Parkway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Ok I have to admit I have passed the entrance to this place dozens of times and never had an inkling to visit because it says "craft center" i always imagined it a small shake or business-like building that is only open 25% of the time. One day my husband and I ventured out the road and to our delight a large white manor house emerged from the trees. WHAT A SURPRISE! We went there in the winter on a warmer day so the craft center was closed for the season however other locals have told me it is a wonderful experience when open. It was also mentioned to me that the toys and items for sale are VERY expensive. Seems like a great place to bring a blanket, book, and picnic. View is spectacular and is a must see for any history buff who can only imagine early 1900's aristocratic life!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenoir, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I have visit this place many times and always enjoy the views. The manor always has great displays. The gift shop offers lots of local things, that I love.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Wales, Fl
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A great insight into old NC.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Mose Cone is an annual trip during our mountain vacation. I regret to say we waited until this summer to take the guided tour of the mansion, it was extremely insightful. After probably 15 years of visits, we still have not experienced all there is to see at Cone. We love the artisans who display their crafts on the porch and are so willing to share about the mountain crafts.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pretty in the snow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Really great time hiking the trails in the snow. The manor house was covered in a light coating of snow making for a great background for pictures

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moses Cone Manor also viewed

Boone, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Boone, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Moses Cone Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moses Cone Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.