We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mid-day snack” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hob Nob Farm Cafe

Hob Nob Farm Cafe
506 West King Street, Boone, NC 28607
(828) 262-5000
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 127 Restaurants in Boone
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Dessert
wnc
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Mid-day snack”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

The service was gracious and attentive.

We walked in just prior to lunch rush. At a small corner table, we enjoyed a warmed Brie plate and two glasses of wine.

With sunshine, a pleasant breeze, good food, and a server that appeared to truly enjoy the work, we had a very nice time.

We will definitely return!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    52
    25
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“fresh and creative”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Our family has been to Hob Nob Café several times and each time it has been a great experience. I love fresh food, farm to table, and I love that local farmers are patronized.
I would recommend this restaurant. Only complaint...closed Monday and Tuesday! It's a small restaurant and I would recommend going "off hours" to avoid waiting. Warning...they don't accept credit cards but they offer an ATM machine.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Creative, Delicious, and Slow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I love eating at the Hob Nob Cafe....when I have time. The service is notoriously slow, even when they are not crowded, and I'm not sure why. I love the variety of the food and the freshness of the ingredients. I know they use local food sources when possible. Great coffee, too. When in Boone, take some time to check it out. You won't be disappointed....unless you're in a hurry!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinity, Florida
2 reviews
“Go there!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great food, big menu, interesting food, go and be happy. Salmon, trout, coffee rubbed pork, beef, chicken, tofu, soup, yum.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Enjoyable experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stopped in for lunch on a Saturday, and we were very pleased with the food and service. This was our second visit--we were there a couple of years ago and had a very good meal so we were happy to go again. The restaurant was maybe half full when we arrived, and our server came quickly as did the food once we ordered. The server was very friendly and knowledgeable of the menu, and we took his recommendation to try a cup of the soup of the day, butternut jalapeno. It was nothing short of spectacular. Perfect balance of sweet squash and just a hint of heat from the peppers, it was amazing. I had their take on a Cuban sandwich which included a bit of pesto and mozzarella--didn't really taste like a traditional Cuban, but it was an excellent combination of flavors. My wife had the avocado tempeh melt, which she enjoyed very much.

Overall a great experience. Food was excellent, prices reasonable, and the service was great.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hob Nob Farm Cafe also viewed

Boone, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Boone, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Hob Nob Farm Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hob Nob Farm Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.