We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“See the show!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Horn in the West

Horn in the West
591 Horn in the West Drive, Boone, NC 28607
+1 828-264-2120
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 10 Attractions in Boone
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Produced since 1952 by Southern Appalachian Historical Association, Inc. 501(C)3, "Horn in the West" is a tale of the birth of a great nation and the courageous efforts of the founding pioneers. Southern Appalachian Historical Association celebrates and preserves the diverse cultural heritage of the Blue Ridge Mountain region. Centered around Daniel Boone and the fight for American Independence, SAHA engages individuals through historical education and cultural entertainment.
Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“See the show!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

I have always wanted to see this outdoor drama and I am so glad that we got to see the show. Well worth the time and money. GO SEE THE SHOW...history forever fascinates me!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    30
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fun evening in Boone.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

This is an entertaining play with song and dance about how the town of Boone was founded. While the character "Daniel Boone" is a part of the play, he is not an integral character and the play is NOT about Daniel Boone's life!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent With Dedicated Actors & Crew”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

My wife, Patti and I saw the performance on Tuesday evening, July 10. Prior to the performance we met some very friendly members of the support staff and felt welcomed as friends. It rained as the performance began; however, after a short delay, the performance continued in a steady rain. We watched under an umbrella. The crew and actors did a splendid job in continuing under these difficult weather conditions. As we were in Boone for only a short time, Patti and I are most appreciative to everyone for continuing the performance and enabling us to see the entire play. The performers care about their craft and message. It is a fine play. Please take the opportunity to see this play. You will not be disappointed.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great time, kids loved it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Been in NC all my life and have been to the mountains numerous times and finally went to see Horn in the West. It surpassed my expectations. Wife and kids loved it. The fight scenes were cool and the actors/actresses do a great job. I thought 2 hours would have been too long, but it never really got boring and story kept you involved. If you've never been to see it, it's definitely worth it.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stamford, ct
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
79 attraction reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“A unique theatrical experience that should not be missed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

An outdoor historical drama that is very well done. Singing, dancing - quite a spectacular production. It's not Broadway but it is lovely. Great for kids. We learned some history too!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Horn in the West also viewed

Boone, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Boone, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Horn in the West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horn in the West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.