We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“howl for the Coyote Kitchen” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coyote Kitchen

Coyote Kitchen
200 Southgate Dr, Boone, NC 28607-6250
828-265-4041
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 128 Restaurants in Boone
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
North Carolina
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“howl for the Coyote Kitchen”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

If we must admit, the great logo of the blue coyote with the fork in his mouth is what first caught our attention but the food made us glad we came. They have a nice mix of veggie options and friendly staff! On an average July week night evening the crowd appeared to be mostly locals and college students. Most folks sat outside on the patio and we saw a lot of Boats being ordered. The portio of their boats was huge so we opted for slightly smaller choices. We ordered the Jalapeno Tempeh Melt & Catalina Shrimp Salad. Our waitress was mellow and friendly. The tempeh melt was a bit heavy and didn't really have a southwest flavor while the Catalina shrimp was great! They could hep the atmosphere if they'd swap out the over head lighting with some softer wall or table lights. We'll eat there again on our next trip to Boone!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    92
    31
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Glade Spring, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Explosive taste in every bite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Tucked away in a small strip mall this culinary bit of taste bud excitement looks like any other eclectic small college town pop restaurant. Local art adorns the interior walls. We have been twice now, because we couldn't believe the expansive Caribbean taste included in every boat, burrito and bowl. Combined with the cranberry salsa the Taos bowl or the Isabella burrito cause an immediate...WOW I HAVE to have another bite now, reaction ... Our last visit included taste testing of their deserts that come from Faith Farms in NC. Even my 81 year old mother found a burrito to her liking and she said the coconut cake was the best of her life. We were so happy to find this delightful restaurant only an hour from our home.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, N.C.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Small, college town, Caribbean, interesting menu”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My best advice is to check out the menu on-line before you go. It really isn't mexican or southwest but is an interesting take on caribbean. It's a very small space with a little patio that is really just where parking spaces had been in front of the strip center. It's absolutely all about the food. Our server was helpful and attentive. The Jamaican tilapia bowl was good as were the shrimp tacos. It's just hard for me to give the total package more than an "average" when the chips look like they're from a bag...and the bottom where the small pieces are. If you know about the menu and all the rest and decide to go, you'll enjoy it. If you just look at the ratings, you may be pretty surprised and disappointed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Must try the sangrias and salsa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

The food was fantastic and for a great price. The sangrias were dangerous. Try the chips and dip sampler, it comes with all the salsas and you can even purchase a jar of salsa to take home.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calhoun, Georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Ingredients and Service; Strange Combinations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

My husband and I went to the Coyote Kitchen after seeing the great reviews on TA. It is located next to Walmart in the adjacent strip mall. We ordered chips and pico de gallo salsa for an appetizer, which were tasty. It cost a little over $3. (You can also get the chips and salsa sampler to try alll the homemade salsas for a little over $4.) Then we both ordered the Marley Burrito, which had a lot of inventive ingredients: jerk chicken, pineapple, rice, butter breans, a plaintain, sweet potatos, and roasted red peppers. We opted for no sour cream. He chose the cranberry salsa and I chose the pinapple habanero. The burritos were $10.99 per person. We were excited to try something new and different! All of the ingredients were quality and as another reviewer stated..."It was an explosion of tastes in your mouth." However, we weren't sure what to make of the explosion. The total price of the meal with tip was $35...very pricy for lunch (even an organic lunch). Maybe try the tacos, soup, or salad for a better combination experience? Service was very friendly and attentive. The salsas were great...especially the fruity ones; and I loved the unsweet (berry) tea.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coyote Kitchen also viewed

Boone, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Boone, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Coyote Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coyote Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.