We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So awesome, we went back a second time!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coyote Kitchen

Coyote Kitchen
200 Southgate Dr, Boone, NC 28607-6250
828-265-4041
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 127 Restaurants in Boone
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“So awesome, we went back a second time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

Was visiting Boone with family and friends for a week. Found this restaurant on Yelp and decided to take a chance on it. So glad we did. The food and service were outstanding. So much so, we returned later on in the week for more. I especially liked their Mojave boat.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    92
    31
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Statesville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A great place for something different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

Coyote Kitchen is a little hole in the wall with some really tasty offerings. Our little family of 3 was there on a Sunday afternoon. We had a Bean & Cheese appetizer that was very good. I had a boat..very filling and great flavor. Wife had Kobe Tacos that she was very happy with and 16 yr old daughter had a salmon burrito that was excellent. There was so much food that we could only share one dessert at the end! Beer, Sangria and sodas were good The service was very good. Total bill was $60. Maybe a tad pricey, but Coyote Kitchen is a really nice change of pace.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Very flavorful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

Excellent flavor to the food. We had nachos, tacos, Barbados boat and a sandwich and all were excellent. The restaurant itself is nothing to write home about as it is small and in a strip center but the food made up for it. Our server was very attentive.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, TN.
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Well worth the detour over......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

We had originally planned on eating the the Hob Nob Cafe, but they were closed that afternoon in preparation for a big evening event. The nice folks at the Hob Nob recommended the Coyote Kitchen, and we're grateful to them. Small, and in a strip mall next to a Wal Mart, but the food was outstanding, and the service was friendly. My wife had the Texicali Boat and I had the Yucca Boat. Both dishes were very tasty and made with fresh ingredients. We live 90 minutes away, but it was well worth the drive and we'll absolutely eat here again.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada, MI
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“It's worth going out of your way to eat here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

Fantastic creative dishes with sweet potato, rice, beans, (with meat or vegi). We visit the north Carolina mountains about every other year, and stopping here for the unique entrees and delicious salsas are a highlight each year. It's almost worth the drive from Michigan just to eat here. Very casual atmosphere with friendly wait staff who are willing to talk or to leave you alone if you are talking in your group. We have never been disappointed here.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coyote Kitchen also viewed

Boone, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Boone, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Coyote Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coyote Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.