We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites to your Saves list
Comfort Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1184 State Route 105, Boone, NC 28607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Boone
chica
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Spent two nights on a recent trip through Boone. We had the suite with a king size bed. Very nice in all ways! The sitting area had a very firm comfortable sofa, desk with auxiliary outlets and 2 nice chairs. The bed was very comfortable, firm and clean. Being on the second floor, didn't need the heat that much, with the room staying pretty warm. Hot and cold breakfast each morning, 2 newspaper choices and a workout room, all complimentary. They also have a small pool which we did not try, but saw others utilizing. Overall, very good experience and would definitely return.

Room Tip: Go with the suite - worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly C, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel. Our staff works hard to ensure that our guests have an enjoyable stay and it's nice to hear that we acheived our goal during your recent visit. Thanks for choosing our hotel. We appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    74
    24
    8
    9
See reviews for
94
58
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Stayed Saturday Oct 18th 2013. Had to wait about 10 min for the room to be available at 4pm but the staff was very nice and gave a discount which I thought was a great thing to do. Requested room location was provided, the room was quiet, clean, and felt up to date. Overall a very good experience and we would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly C, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for posting a review of our hotel. We're happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing on your next visit to the High Country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goshen, OH
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Located just south of downtown Boone, this hotel is less than a mile from the intersection of 105 and 221/321. Sandwich restaurant right next door (Troy’s), other restaurants and shopping within less than 5 minute drive. Appalachian State is up the road and it’s a short drive to Blowing Rock, West Jefferson, Blue Ridge Parkway, or Linville. Nice central location.

Hotel lobby is decorated in a hunting lodge style, just like in the pictures at their website. The large seating area with a gas burning fireplace and sofas and chairs is a cozy place to relax. The large Breakfast lounge is just up the stairs and overlooks the lobby. A large indoor pool with lots of seating is located off the lobby. Fitness room is small but features treadmills and an elliptical. Guest laundry has 2 washers and 2 dryers at $1 per load. A newer gazebo is in the back of the property. There was also a game room with coin operated pool table, air hockey, and video games … something very different!

We had a large suite with king-sized bed (linens were very nice but bed was too firm), TV, 3 drawer chest, and night stands. An alcove area included a sleeper couch, square table that served as the “desk” and 2 small cushioned chairs that could have been larger for normal sized adults. The entry area had a clothes hanging bar, small sink, small microwave and refrig, and a set of cabinets. The bathroom was small but had plenty of counter space. AC/heater worked well for the entire room. WIFI had good signal and speed. Decent cell phone reception as well.

Breakfast was well attended, clean, & well stocked. It included bacon, eggs, make your own waffles, cereal, fresh fruit, juices, coffee, hard boiled eggs, bagels, pastries, toast, etc.
Staff was very friendly.

Loved staying here even though we had to drive to West Jefferson everyday for business. We WILL be back.

Room Tip: Get a room that faces the back ... lots of traffic noise in front rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly C, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thanks so much for your thorough review of our hotel. We're happy to know that you were pleased with the accommodations and the services that we offer. We hope that on your next trip you'll be able to spend more time relaxing and less time working! We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Stayed 3 nights while exporing the area including Grandfather Mountain and Blue Ridge Parkway. Very good stay. They have a very nice lobby with a gas fireplace and comfy chairs to enjoy the fire and sit and read. The room was clean and comfortable with a comfortable bed.

The hot continental breakfast was about the best I've had at a hotel. Plentiful hot scrambled eggs, sausage and other offerings, plus an ample assortment of cold items too. The breakfast area was quite busy, but the lady taking care of the area did an excellent job of keeping everything well supplied.

The WiFi worked fairly well, but for some reason, it seemed spotty in my room, which was at the extreme end of the hotel. Even my Verizon wireless account didn't work very well in that room, which was puzzling.

I'd definitely stay here again. Well worth it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly C, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for posting a review of our hotel. As with any hotel, we occasionally experience some issues with our internet service. We have plans to upgrade the internet in the next couple of months so that we have less interruptions with service for our guests. Guest satisfaction is our number one priority! Thank you for your feedback and thanks for choosing the Comfort Suites. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Short and sweet - good hotel, very nice lobby, extremely nice people. Didn't try the breakfast, but it looked like the usual you get for free at a place like this. Didn't try the indoor pool though it looked nice. Room was pretty nice, though we got stuck with a handicap room due to booked hotel and time of arrival I guess, meant no computer desk and no bathroom counter.

Just take my advice and try to get a room on the backside of the hotel, for the road side is fairly noisy.

I mentioned service, and they were, just awesomely nice. I especially love that they have a tiny little "store" right there that even includes wine and beer - nice! We didn't get any, but I asked and the gent said they charged like $10 or $11 for Chardonnay, and $12 for Merlot. Probably $6 wine at the store, but good grief, the convenience, and the shock of it - most places don't do that.

Price wasn't "terrible," giving how busy the fall leaf weekend was - every place was booked solid, and our room was $139 +, though I did book it 3 weeks in advance.

Oh, and we didn't use the game room, but I thought it was way cool to have. A small pool table, a small air hockey table, one of those "claw" games that grabs a stuffed animal, and a couple of other video games. Hey, I can imagine that making some kids' stay, in addition to the pool.

Room Tip: Like I said earlier, try to get the backside, not the road side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly C, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for posting such a thorough review of our hotel. The sundry shop was just added this year and is quite popular with our guests. And, yes, kids love that game room! We hope that you'll choose the Comfort Suites for your next visit. Let us know in advance that you prefer a room on the backside of the hotel and we'll do everything possible to make sure you're in the area that you want. Thanks so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Great location...Close to the Blue Ridge Parkway and the town of Blowing Rock...Very clean room.. Very comfortable bed...Staff was great..Complimentary Beer and wine at check in...Chili was great..Breakfast was very good....worth the price of the room... Will stay there again...Fall foliage was spectacular.

Room Tip: Would recommend a room on the back side of hotel.. Street side a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly C, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. October is one of the best times of the year to visit our area and we're glad that you chose to stay with us. We appreciate your business and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Great ambiance and location. Room was wonderful; service and attention was spot-on. Breakfast was great, in a dining room overlooking the fireplaced reception area. Did not use the pool, but it appeared to be clean and well-maintained.

Would recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly C, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thanks so much for your comments. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Address: 1184 State Route 105, Boone, NC 28607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Boone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Boone
#6 Romantic Hotel in Boone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Boone
Comfort Suites Boone
Boone Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.