We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great white pie” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mellow Mushroom

Mellow Mushroom
946 Main St, Blowing Rock, NC 28605
+1 828-295-3399
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 40 Restaurants in Blowing Rock
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Pizza, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Mellow Mushroom is THE destination for Blowing Rock's best pizza, hoagies, salads and more! We also boast the High Country's largest selection of quality craft and microbrews. We offer pet-friendly outside dining, and a family friendly kids menu. Keep on Shroomin!
Boone, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great white pie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The pizza and other foods are wonderfully prepared, the atmosphere is like an old pizza shoppe, the staff is very friendly and always offering polite conversation to their guests. We recommend them to our guests at Wahoos Adventures and always receive kudos for doing so. The company is family/ chef owned and the attention to detail shows- Thanks for a great meal.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    72
    23
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rockland, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great salads!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Ordered a salad to go but did look around this restaurant and it is large, multilevel establishment with eclectic decor. Seems to appeal to a younger crowd (like myself). I ordered a salad to go and it was very fresh and a good value as well.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blowing Rock, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just a Chain Restaurant.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This Mellow has a nice location- cool, hippie chic building, but otherwise nothing to write home about. In a word, the place is "fine." ...adequate. It's clean enough, but it's VERY dark in there for no apparent reason which is kind of a downer.

The food is just not that good. I end up there every so often anyway when meeting friends, but it's not somewhere I ever choose. The pizza is always overly bread-y and limp. Crust is soggy, weighed down by the toppings and flimsy. Always has the sensation of having been reheated in a microwave. To be fair: I don't think it actually has been... but when it tastes like it, what's the difference?

Calzones, like the pizzas, always have a "mass produced" flavor with far too much bland bread and bland cheese, and far too little real flavors (think fresh herbs, etc.)

For family and wallet friendly qualities, I'd opt for a local sandwich shop instead; for delicious pizza, I'd recommend somewhere with the classic NY/Italian style goods.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mount, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Had a swell time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I liked that we could sit at an outdoor table on the deck upstairs. Lovely trees growing through deck for shade. Service is super fast.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Another good visit to MM”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Still a bit pricey for what you get, but we have always had good food and service here. Will be interested to see how they change when they move into the Old Bob Timberlake store at the intersection of 221 and Bus. 321.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mellow Mushroom also viewed

Blowing Rock, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Mellow Mushroom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mellow Mushroom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.