We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoyed this restaurant & plan to go again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Best Cellar Incorporated

Best Cellar Incorporated
203 Sunset Dr, Blowing Rock, NC 28605
(828) 295-3466
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 40 Restaurants in Blowing Rock
Price range: $18 - $40
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Eclectic, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“We enjoyed this restaurant & plan to go again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

I had done some research online and this appeared to be one of the best restaurants in Blowing Rock. We did experience several others during our stay, so of them all we did like Best Cellar best. Mind you, Blowing Rock is not a big place and does not have many upscale restaurants.

We also liked the look of the Inn and think that we will try a stay there on an occasion when we might return to the area.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    21
    14
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
NC
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Incredible dinner....loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We arrived at the restaurant 45 minutes earlier than our reservation. We went to the bar and were recommended the High Country Ale brewed locally at the new Blowing Rock Brewery. From the moment we got our drinks our evening at Best Cellar was stellar. We sat in the lobby relaxing in front of the fire and enjoyed small talk with other guests. Then we were led to the grotto or "cellar" area for dinner. Three of us had the blackened rib eye. It was cooked to perfection with a fabulous blue cheese cognac creme sauce. My husband chose the filet au poive in a cracked peppercorn brandy sauce and said it was great. Well worth the price. We will absolutely dine there again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallaha
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Gone down hill”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This used to be our favorite special occasion in Blowing Rock. The menu hasn't changed for years. They no longer serve lunch, which was pleasant. The last time we dined here, I ordered my tenderloin steak medium - first one came out well done and the second one raw and grizzly. Best Cellar is off our list.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minocqua, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Solid Choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We followed the recommendation of the receptionist at our resort and tried the Best Cellar. Excellent food, comfortable country ambience, very good wine list and fine service. Great laid back evening in Blowing Rock.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleyville, Texas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Don't let them seat you "down under". Horrible noise level”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

The outside and upper floor area of the establishment were as charming as it gets. We were very excited upon arrival. The bar area served a nice selection and we all enjoyed our cocktail. We were then ushered to the cellar area. It was not decorated. Looked like an overflow area. The noise level was unbearable. We could barely hear each other. The wait staff was young and we had one " in training". That was certainly fine. The food was very good. Portions small however. Dessert was the best part.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Best Cellar Incorporated also viewed

Blowing Rock, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Best Cellar Incorporated? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Cellar Incorporated, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.