We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you enjoy bland food...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Knights On Main - CLOSED

Knights On Main
870 Main St, Blowing Rock, NC 28605-8331
828-295-3869
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“If you enjoy bland food...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015 via mobile

Having eaten at this restaurant when it was known by another name, I had high hopes that they would continue the tasty home cooked tradition. Alas, my hopes were dashed over and over again with each sampling of our dishes. Our party of six tried a variety of items and found all to be bland and underwhelming. No imagination is shown in the preparation or preparation of any item on the menu.

Visited January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    68
    32
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Still Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2014

New name, but still great food at a decent price. Four of us ate there two mornings in a row and had everything from omelets, to eggs benedict, to waffles, to biscuits and gravy. Good service and the food was great. Sorry to see Knight's go, but it seems they have kept the same good food.

  • Visited December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamesville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“New Owner Still Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stopped in Blowing Rock on the way to a log cabin I rented in the Smokey Mountains. We stayed ,as usual at the Blowing Rock Inn where we found out that Knights on Main had been sold. It is now called Southern Comfort. They are now open for breakfast,lunch and dinner. We had dinner and breakfast there. Service was good and both meals were very good. Still can't go wrong dining there.
Tom

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Closed! :-(”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This was one of our very favorite restaurants in the Boone area, but it closed. Not sure why, because they always seemed to be very busy. We will miss it!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Knights On Main is now closed!, it was 5+”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Knights was a great place for lunch and breakfast. I even dreamt of their blackberry cobbler. The town has made it too expensive for places like Knights to survive. In fact, Blowing Rock zoning has gone a bit mindless and maybe greed has come to town.

Shame on BR governance.

A new restaurant will go in there, but it won't be Knights.

Go to Bistro Roca!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Knights On Main also viewed

Blowing Rock, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knights On Main, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.