We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay here again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homestead Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Homestead Inn to your Saves list
Homestead Inn
153 Morris Street, PO Box 1030, Blowing Rock, NC 28605   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Blowing Rock B&B and Inns
Western Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Would stay here again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Very helpful and friendly innkeepers. It was chilly and we'd been hiking, so the gas fireplace and the whirlpool tub were especially appreciated. Great location, a short walk from main street. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    28
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
54
98
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Augustine, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We were planning on being in Blowing Rock Thursday and Friday before Memorial Day. I called and spoke with Caroline who said they only had 1 pet room left for those days. I booked even though the rate was a little higher due to the type of room they had. Not disappointed at all. Fireplace (which was needed as it was 40 degrees during part of our stay), Jacuzzi, mini fridge coffee maker, TV with DVD player and other items to make our stay very comfortable. We were within walking distance to shopping, restaurants etc. Please make this hotel a must stop on your trip to or through Blowing Rock! Thanks Caroline, your new staff member was most friendly and showed she wanted to please! Only sorry I didn't get her name.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Clean and cozy rooms, within a short walk of a very interesting downtown. Large whirlpool bath in or room, along with a fireplace and two queen beds. We were very happy with the accommodations and the price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We had an amazing time at Homestead. The rooms were just as promised, and Caroline, her husband, and the entire staff were dedicated and helpful. They recommended places to eat, sights to see, and even one of the best overlooks to see a space event that was happening. (View of three planets.) The room was small, but cozy, and each room had two rocking chairs outside so you could enjoy the scenery and your neighbors. The gardens are beautifully kept and very inviting, and there's warm coffee and cider in the mornings. Blowing Rock is a beautiful, walkable town, and the Homestead is in the perfect location. I happened to be there at a busy, peak time, but the noise didn't bother me at night. The Wi-fi is spotty, but that's to be expected in the mountains. We had a wonderful time, and definitely can't wait to visit again.

Room Tip: Room 2 was great, but not for light sleepers, as the location is central and next to the gardens. S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

our stay here has been wonderful! it is right around the corner from shops, restaurants, parks, and hiking trails, but is also quiet and peaceful. one thing I want to mention is that the pictures do not do the rooms justice, they are even better in person! the staff is very welcoming and friendly, the maids are courteous and keep the rooms In immaculate condition, and some rooms allow pets! all of this and for nearly the same price I was going to pay at a day's inn!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Very convenient location to downtown Blowing Rock. Rates were a bit higher than was on the web site. We did not call first. A small room, but very clean. Two rockers out front to sit on. Coffee in the AM and muffins that were embarassingly small. No muffins would have been better. Parking is tight. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolineissweet, Owner at Homestead Inn, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Wow, we are quite insulted! We don't even serve or advertise continental breakfast, and we just hired a young hard working girl from Bulgaria to help us out with front desk work, and she was so happy to bake homemade from scratch strawberry mini muffins for all of our guests on a whim! The muffins were complimentary! Just can't please everyone.
Also, it states on our web site, and all motels in blowing rock,that when there is a special event, rates are subject to change, and we do not offer our web site rates. It is clearly stated on our site, "rates are subject to change for special events". So just to let all potential customers know, we don't always offer the web site rates when there is a special event, and we always explain this when booking. Please read more of our trip advisors, we try very hard to please all of our customers but you just can't please them all!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waregem, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the quaint Homestead Inn in Blowing Rock, North Carolina in March of 2013. Blowing Rock is a small, cozy mountain town in the Appalachians, just off the Blue Ridge Parkway. The motel, which is just off main street in this highly walkable town, is run by an extremely friendly couple that resides on the premises.

Our queen bedroom, for which we paid a fair $50, breathed coziness all throughout. There's a rocking chair, a flat screen tv with dvd player (I believe they even have movies in the lobby that you can borrow), the inescapable motel coffee percolator (but there's also fresh coffee in the lobby), a small fridge and even a small ice bucket for champagne bottles. The bathroom has a bath/shower and has separate heating. The room wasn't terribly big, but don't let that deter you. It's very clean, comfortable and extremely well-maintained. There's free wi-fi if you need/like that. There are chairs and tables outside to enjoy yourself on a hot, sunny day.

To conclude, if you're looking for a more-than-decent, fairly-priced, cozy mountain retreat right in the center of town, yet quiet, then the Homestead Inn is a sure bet.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homestead Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homestead Inn

Address: 153 Morris Street, PO Box 1030, Blowing Rock, NC 28605
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Blowing Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homestead Inn is awesome! Rooms are quaint, cozy, and immaculate! Rooms include Highspeed internet fridge, micro, coffee pot,flat screen tv with DVD players, hairdryer. Some rooms have fireplace, and or jacuzzi, efficiency. All newly remodeled rooms for 2011. We are located in a beautiful setting in walking distance to downtown. minutes from the ski slopes and all other Blowing Rock attractions,including the Blue Ridge Parkway We provide a swing, gazebo, picnic table and grill area.We are known for our award winning gardens and flowers. Come stay at the Homestead, your "home away from home". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Homestead Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Hotel Blowing Rock

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homestead Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.