We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SImple pleasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alpen Acres Motel

Save Saved
You added Alpen Acres Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alpen Acres Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   Highway 321, Blowing Rock, NC   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Blowing Rock
opp, al
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“SImple pleasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I spent several nights here in Oct. 2012, originally planning to stay just one night, but kept extending another night because the location was so perfect, the room neat as a pin, the price was right and the proprietors were helpful and courteous. If you are not needing fancy amenities, but looking for a comfortable bed and clean room with easy access to the Blue Ridge Parkway, in the midst of a lovely part of the Smokies, I'd highly recommend Alpen Acres.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    42
    13
    5
    3
See reviews for
55
40
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Kansas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This was our 2nd stay here & has been a good experience both times. Convenient to the surrounding attractions, interesting things to see & do in & around Blowing Rock. The management quickly became like old friends & are very helpful. We stayed 2 nights both times
& were quite comfortable with the furniture, bed, & bathroom. The heating/cooling system leaves a little to be desired, but we have found that in newer, more expensive motels also. I would recommend Alpen Acres to almost anyone & since we enjoy the Blue Ridge Parkway as well as the area in general, we will probably be back again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This is a very small older, motor-court type motel. It was in a quiet location. When we arrived around 7:00 the office was already closed with a sign saying they would return at 10:30 (we assumed P.M. but it didn't say). The key was taped to the office door which was fine with us.
The room was small but it was clean with NO bedbugs. The furnishings are older but adequate for one night. At around 4:00 a.m., a heater or air conditioner came on next door and was loud enough to wake us up. The next morning, we were checking out about 8:00. Again, the office was closed with a sign saying they would return at 8:30. We went on and found some breakfast and came back to check out. Since we had not seen anyone, I wanted to get a receipt before leaving town. When we got back around 9:00, the office door said "open" but no one was there. After ringing the bell twice, a lady came in from the back. She was very nice and friendly but it would have been good to have someone there at check in and check out. I don't think the hours we came and went were too late or early. All in all, it was an OK place for one night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, North Carolina, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

For a family weekend visit to Boone, I was looking for a nice place to stay that had a bit of character. No stuffy, bland hotel -- I wanted something with some local charm. I found Alpen Acres, and was able to book the chalet. We loved this place! The accomodations were not large, but we loved the location, we loved the seclusion, and we had everything that we needed. In reading some of the reviews that are unfavorable, perhaps those folks would be happier at a Holiday Inn...but for a nice mountain retreat where you can sit out on your front porch and watch the stars, I recommend the Alpen Acres Motel.

Room Tip: For families with rambunctious toddlers, I recommend booking the chalet -- it is away from other vis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Picture a motel from the 1960s. Imagine furniture from the 1970s. A TV from the 1980s. A bathroom that was the size of a closet, with a shower head height perfect if you are 4 feet tall. An AC that uses a remote that beeps quite loudly when making adjustments. Then you have the Alpen Acres Motel. You have to drive everywhere from this locale, there is nothing remotely close that you can walk to. The room was clean, as was the shower. But the place needs a serious remodel. We also couldn't believe the rate charged for the room--unknown to us, it was a Bristol Race weekend in nearly TN.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patmace, Manager at Alpen Acres Motel, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
We are proud to be an older motor-court style motel and advertise ourselves as such. I’m sorry we weren't what you were looking for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Bend, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We had a mother/daughter weekend. We enjoyed it a lot. We had a couple of issues when we checked in very minor and they took care of it in no time. Very nice well kept place. We enjoyed the nice breeze that came from having the windows open. And the place is very secluded. Highly recommend this place.

Winston Salem NC

Room Tip: Rooms on the main level are better than the detached one I think. We stayed on Room 2 and were very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

PERFECT SPOT FOR A FAMILY WITH YOUNG KIDS- there is a large back "yard" with swings, heated pool (gated), shuffleboard, picnic tables, grill, and room to run.

My family visited for 2 nights during the week of July 4th. Check in was a breeze and they had our Tweetsie tickets ready for us. They inadvertently double charged us for the tickets and we didn't even notice. She immediately found us walking on site and handed us the refund for the difference- honesty spoke volumes!!!

Staff was very friendly, room was clean, coffee and morning snacks were just what we needed. If you are looking for a great value from a locally owned motel with a family atmosphere, Alpen Acres is the place! We will visit again and highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alpen Acres Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpen Acres Motel

Address: Highway 321, Blowing Rock, NC
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Blowing Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Alpen Acres Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpen Acres is located on a scenic hilltop 1/4 mile off the Blue Ridge Parkway, near Blowing Rock and Boone, NC. Designed like the motor courts of the past, our accommodations include charming, comfortable rooms and a cozy mountain chalet. Amenities include: heated outdoor pool, recreational area, free wireless internet, flat screen TVs with full cable, hairdryers, coffee makers, complimentary tea, coffee and breakfast fare, kitchen suites, original artwork by local artists in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Alpen Acres Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpen Acres Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpen Acres Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.